• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

"Tumbling" through threatened spaces

KerlanRayne

Explorer
I'm still learning all the differences between 3.5 and Pathfinder. I was confused by the changes to "tumbling". In order to pass safely through a threatened space you have to roll an Acrobatics check against a DC equal to the creature's Combat Maneuver Defense. This doesn't make sense to me. How does having a high strength help against this? What about things like Deflection bonuses to AC?

I know they wanted to make it simpler as well as harder than the flat DC 15 check, but I think it's now too hard to pass the check.

What do you all think about it?

Wiseblood

Adventurer
I like the changes. It makes it harder to tumble past a skilled apponent.

I also must admit I think tumbling in combat should be an act of desperation not the go-to tactic for battlefield positioning.

StreamOfTheSky

Adventurer
I hate it passionately. All the things that add to CMD affecting tumble is dumb. Tying a skill check to oppose BAB (which with many monsters can get ASTRONOMICAL) is incredibly freaking stupid, and I've argued so for years. I'm in a level 14 gestalt game right now. The rogue has an acrobatics modifier in the mid 30s and has failed 75% of her attempts. I myself have maxed ranks, decent dex, and add my massive intellect to dex skills (Factotum), for a bonus close to 30. I have yet to succeed on a roll, not that I try often, I'm well aware of how suicidal it is now.

OP, I had a thread from a long time ago asking about the new Acrobatics skill, if you'd like: http://www.enworld.org/forum/pathfi...321-acrobatics-skill-questions-critiques.html