• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

What Are Your Best Battle Tactics?

Scorponox

First Post
Hi Playas!

I am setting up an arena type battle scenario, and wanted to know what battle tactics I should use as a level 5 sorceress? The party consists of a Cleric, Fighter, Rogue, Swashbuckler, and Sorceress, all level 4.

Ideally, there will be henchmen accompanying the main baddie, but I wanted to make her extra special. What sort of tactics and spells would really mess them up badly? I am a newbie DM, so I'd like to surprise them with something a veteran DM would use.

orion90000

First Post
something simple to use would be glitterdust to potentially blind the whole party. Scorching ray is alway a staple spell for an evoker (hell, my sorcerer is level 18 and still uses it regularly). Go invisible and start summoning monsters since that won't end invisibility. Mirror Image makes her harder to hit... And that's just 2nd level spells.

Grease never gets old and Color Spray can wreck havoc on any party.

Remember to always stay away from the pointy end of the swords when playing a sorcerer.

Jeff Wilder

First Post
Glitterdust. Grease. Web.
Glitterdust is broken, grease isn't as powerful as some people seem to think (i.e., it didn't give the rogue sneak attack to anybody standing in the area, because "balancing" is a function of making a skill check, not a defined game condition), and web is unlikely to work in an arena context.

So ... glitterdust. And grease if your DM plays it as broken, and you've got a sneak attacking ally. (Or maybe even if not. It's a good spell, even without the broken interpretation.)

CuRoi

First Post