• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

What to run for a group of complete beginners?

Turjan

Explorer
I have been surprised with having to run a campaign for a group of people (3-4) with no D&D experience; only one of them played a few sessions some ten years ago. As they already want to start tomorrow :eek:, there's not much time for lots of preparation, and I like to use some published adventures.

Does anybody of you know what works well with complete beginners? Would you start with a mini scenario? I'm not sure whether the "Sunless Citadel" is the best choice; I might try and work it into some context, because they want to have a whole campaign. I don't have the "Shackled City" book (and there's no time to get it). I'm somewhat hesitant with the "Whispering Cairn", as I'm not sure whether they are ready for something that well integrated (I suppose they will struggle with the rules). Any suggestions, also for a whole module-based campaign (only stuff from the 3.x era, please :))?

Stalker0

Legend
Personally, I would run the completely iconic adventure. The damsel in distress, the bandit group of orcs attacking the village...go completely cliche because beginners can still appreciate those adventures:)

IronWolf

blank
I think Sunless Citadel could work quite well. It has the other modules you can run later if you want or branch off with another arc pretty easily too if you desired. Of course I think I have a soft spot for Sunless Citadel for some reason.

Another one that might be decent is OrcFest. It is geared sort of for new D&D players (though mainly with tips to the DM, which won't really apply to you). But if you happen to have access to it, it might be worth flipping through for consideration.

cat o nine mice

First Post
Cat o nine mice sez....