• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

When is an encounter 'beat'?

Hellefire

First Post
So, I've been gaming for 27 years, but only for a month with 3/3.5 edition. My players all want to play it, so I'm trying to give it a fair shake. Learning the rules and how things are moderated, etc. I came upon a situation that I'm not sure how the 'official' 3.5E rules would deal, and still working on how I am going to deal with it.

It's basically a question of encounters, and how they are 'overcome'. Encounters are overcome (and thus considered for XP) if the characters handle them and continue to their objective right?

So, for example, a group is progressing through a dungeon, with the objective of killing the BBEG at the end. They go through a room with some undead. They do their thing (kill some, turn some, etc, etc). Now, some of the undead were turned and ran away - they weren't destroyed. Does the encounter still count for full XP if the objective was just to get through the room? Or is the EL reduced to the number that were destroyed?

Same scenario - say the players return a year later and face the same undead they turned last time. If they got XP for them the first time, do they get XP for dealing with them again?

Now, in my head, it seems liek they should get full XP for dealing with the encounter above. Also, if they return a year later and do it again, it's a whole new encounter, and they should get XP again.

But what if its a month later? A week later? The next day? The next hour? If they go turn the same undead day after day, do they get new XP day after day? Wheres the line?

I'm mostly trying to figure out the 'official' answers to these questions, but also a bit trying to figure out how I'm personally going to deal with it.

Thanks,
Aaron

IamTheTest

First Post