D&D 5E Which Greyhawk?

MerricB

Eternal Optimist
Supporter
One of those questions that I wonder about is this: If Greyhawk were to come back as a setting (even if only enabled for DMs Guild creators), which version of the setting would you want to see?

And, to some extent, my answer to that question is "none of them! I want to see mine!"

There have been so many takes on Greyhawk, with various bits of lore misinterpreted and reinterpreted in each version... I've been running campaigns set in Greyhawk for the past twenty years, and the version that I play in is definitely mine, with elements drawn from the early 1980/1983 sets, some fragments of From the Ashes, and random shards of the Living Greyhawk Gazetteer thrown in, on top of which I also borrow from the Castle Zagyg products of Troll Lord Games when appropriate...

The early UK adventures may have been "placed" in Greyhawk, but do they represent the setting? Only when I think they do. Or you think they do, as applied to your personal vision of the world.

There's a useful trick that Battletech does in dividing their world into eras, so they can expand any era they like as appropriate. Of course, the Battletech eras don't contradict each other as much as the Greyhawk eras do...

It's a strange situation. If I were to write a DMs Guild adventure set in Furyondy, would you recognise my depiction of the land? Would it diverge too much from what you understand it to be? I often felt that during the Living Greyhawk days - the countries weren't depicted as I saw them; it made things hard.

I'd love to play in Greyhawk as a writer on the DMs Guild. But it's the fragments of a shattered mirror I think we'd see: reflecting the world in crazy patterns.

Cheers!