• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

World of Warcraft taught me how to DM again.

Calico_Jack73

First Post
Let me start off by saying that I've been DMing and playing D&D on and off since 1981. Somewhere around the time Werewolf the Apocalypse debuted I got into playing the various World of Darkness games with a group that was very much into narrative roleplaying with grand overplots that plugged into the WoD metastory. I became so used to games with these huge overplots that I couldn't imagine running a game without one. This need for overplot has been causing me all sorts of heartache since I got back into D&D when 3E debuted. Coming up with an earthshattering overplot for low level characters in D&D can be incredibly frustrating.
Last month for Christmas, my brother-in-law got me the World of Warcraft Battlechest. I realize that I have become a Warcrack addict but I also realize from playing the low level quests that a good fantasy rpg doesn't NEED to have that huge overplot. There is absolutely nothing wrong with going on quests on the behalf of farmers who keep getting robbed by kobolds or finding and slaying giant scorpions in order to get the ingredients for a cure for someone in a village who is dying from a sting. A couple quests like this and you've got the makings for a good night of gaming with very low prep and stress for the DM.

Thank you Blizzard for showing me how to reduce my stress and have fun with my game again. :)

A lot of gamers get caught in the mindset of the world saving hero.
Not every adventure has to save the universe from certain doom.
If the PC's are constantly stopping the world from ending at low level then the impact
of adventures at higher levels can sometimes be lessened and treated
as if they were routine, which at that point, they are.