Would You Play In This Game?

Jake of Spades

First Post
Hey guys, I'm new to ENWorld and have been thinking for a while about creating a play-by-post thread. First off, I originally posted this is in "General RPG Discussion" before being told that I'd probably get better feedback here. So if I'm breaking any forum rules, sorry.

I've been developing a campaign in my head for a few months now, and was wondering if it would be interesting enough to start. Of course, this is all in my head, so I will be first writing as much as I can down on a blog that will be used side by side in my campaign. Basically, my campaign start is this:

The PCs start off in a not-so typical European themed fantasy realm. It is not-so typical because it is closer to reality than to fantasy. Based off of medieval England, this land is almost entirely populated by humans, although originally inhabited by Elves and Dwarves as well. The humans of this land have long believed that magic is evil, or it is simply the stuff of myths. They believe Elves, Dwarves, etc do not exist. As suggested in the "General RPG Discussion", I would definitely let the players in on the fact that magic,etc do exist from the very start, but just have them role play the surprise.

In this land, the PCs are newly-graduated students (entirely human) from a combat school, where they did NOT learn any magic. The PCs would be friends, or acquaintances at least from the start. Before heading their separate ways into the world, they decide to go to the capitol city of their country. Here, they visit my world's equivalent of a China-town, and soon find themselves facing the fact that magic DOES exist, and so do Elves, etc. They are nearly killed while in the China-like-town due to being part of an ancient prophecy, and they are soon being shipped off to my world's equivalent to Asia to accomplish their destiny.