• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Yet anther hybrid 3.5/4.0 system... but mine is better (just kidding), suggestions?

Hereticus

First Post
Hi All,
Per the advice of Kerrick, I am posting this here rater than [http://www.enworld.org/forum/general-rpg-discussion/253710-3-5-4-0-hybrid-system-feedback-requested.html ].

I have been gaming since 1980, and had played AD&D, 2nd ed, 3.5 ed (passed 3.0), and now 4.0. Also worth noting is that I have never played an on-line game or any sort of video game.

I liked every system I had played in, after some initial criticisms. Not to rekindle a flame war, I have not been pleased with 4.0. Yes, I see some very nice things in it, and i want to keep it. Everything but the character class layout, it seems cold and sterile, the new classes seemed to be missing the fantasy element. I really like that the LA and HD were removed from character classes, and the skills seem so much simpler. I like the 3.5 feats better, and 4.0 rituals are useless.

That being said, I am in the process of trying to create a 3.5/4.0 hybrid system. The basic rules for 3.5 and 4.0 are not much different, what does differ are racial abilities, class abilities, skills and feats.

Races: I intend to keep most of the 4.0 content, and add more from earlier editions. Regarding races like Elves, there will be only three; Fey Elves, Grugash (sylvan/wild) elves, and Drow. As I stated in another thread, I do not give racial bonuses to stats, each race will be flexible enough to allow for all past variants.