D&D 5E Warlock/Fighter Multiclass advice

Penhall

Villager
The basics:
1) I'm in my first 5e campaign (lots of previous DnD experience), but I'm new to this rule set.
2) Our DM is not allowing any feats.
3) My first character, the party Cleric, died at 2nd level to a brutal critical hit, so I had to re-roll. The DM brought in my new character at 2nd level to keep pace with the party.
4) I wanted to play a Warlock, but as I was the 2nd character to die in our first adventure, I wanted a little bit of extra survivability.
5) Fighting style will be ranged damage w/ some control.
6) 1st level Fighter for extra HP, Defensive Fighting Style for +1 AC, Shield proficiency for +2 AC, a possible upgrade to a breastplate from studded leather at some point down the road, Con save for Concentration, access to Perception and Insight skill proficiency, and Second Wind. Warlock from there on out (currently 3rd lvl - Fighter 1/Warlock 2).

The question:
1) I am considering adding two more levels of Fighter (after two or three more levels of Warlock) to pick up Action Surge and Battle Master (Evasive Footwork, Parry, and Rally). Doing so, I could only level up to 17 as a Warlock. I would be giving up one Invocation at 18th level, 1 known spell (14 instead of 15) at 19th level, and one ASI at 19th level. Do you think this is a worthwhile trade? Thanks in advance for your feedback.

Edit: Clarified the question a little.

Last edited:

Blue

Ravenous Bugblatter Beast of Traal
The biggest problem with multiclass characters is that while you can make perfectly good characters, it's also easy to unintentionally shoot yourself in the foot with a build that doesn't really come together until later levels.

At 5th and to a lesser extent at 11th there is a power bump for the classes. If you delay that for several levels you can feel like you aren't contributing as much as others.