first time cleric needs to survive

kelson

First Post
I am new to d&d. I have played rp style games before but they were always of a sort which was more interested in having a good story and drinking lots of alcohol, than in stats and feats. to top it all off I have never played any sort of caster before. not even in an rp type game. I would be very interested in hearing what you guys have to say about building this character. it will be a 13th lvl cleric, specializing in healing, but we only have one character that can melee well so I may end up up close and personal fairly regularly. equiptment that could help in either of those areas would be nice too, but only stuff that I can buy fairly cheap, cause the DM probably wont give me much gold to start with. We can use pretty much any book. any good ideas out there for a newb?

Last edited:

Mistwell

Crusty Old Meatwad (he/him)
I think you should not try to play D&D at level 13 as your very first game. There are too many things to juggle.

kelson

First Post
I have played a couple of games before, just never one this intensive on the rules. usualy it was more focused on what makes the story move forward. we mostly had to talk our way our of problems rather than fight and house rule was that you dont roll for diplomacy bluff or anything like that. instead you had to rp it. if you could convice the dm then it worked and if not you were screwed. in this new game it is a stricly by the books dungeon crawl with virtualy no conversations in character with anyone. so I am more learning a new style of play than a new game. the biggest problem is that I have never played a caster before. I always stuck with melle classes until now. but the group is desperatly in need of a healer so I am going to try it out.

seans23

First Post