D&D 2E 2e AD&D PHB Balance

dmhelp

Explorer
After the wisdom from all of the editions thru the years…. What changes should have been made for better race and class balance in the PHB?

Remove dual classing from the game? Let humans multiclass?

Remove level limits but give humans something else (+1 to 3 different stats???)?

Give paladins and rangers weapon spec?

Give thieves sneak attack with melee weapons instead of backstab?

Give non warriors a chance to hit at high level?

More spells for low level casters?

Other suggestions? I just started playing bg:ee and iwd:ee so I’ve been play testing some of those (disabled kits except specialty priests and disabled 3e/new classes).

I’ve never found a way to do bards that I like thru the editions….

Jack Daniel

dice-universe.blogspot.com
At least for my part: no, no, no and no, no (in fact I don't give it to fighters), no, already there, nah, several, and I split the bard into two classes because it covers too many concepts as-is.

Gnosistika

Mildly Ascorbic
After the wisdom from all of the editions thru the years…. What changes should have been made for better race and class balance in the PHB?

Remove dual classing from the game? Let humans multiclass?

Remove level limits but give humans something else (+1 to 3 different stats???)?

Give paladins and rangers weapon spec?

Give thieves sneak attack with melee weapons instead of backstab?

Give non warriors a chance to hit at high level?

More spells for low level casters?

Other suggestions? I just started playing bg:ee and iwd:ee so I’ve been play testing some of those (disabled kits except specialty priests and disabled 3e/new classes).

I’ve never found a way to do bards that I like thru the editions….
1) We removed dual class way back, just use multi-class.

2) Stat bonusses have a huge impact on the game in 2e. I'd give humans XP bonuses per level.