• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Best 6th level Spells

fujaiwei

First Post
Hi everyone, this is my first post, so let me know if this is in the wrong spot, or if I can find a similar thread somewhere.

I've been playing DnD now for about a year, since I stopped last in the 6th grade. :) Point is, I'm still learning the spells in the PHB.

Question:
What four 6th level spells from different schools would you choose upon reaching 11th level, only selecting from the PHB? I'm playing a wizard who is going for a balanced approach, later to be Arch Mage. FYI, I have Spell Focus: Evocation and Enchantment. I was thinking:

Disintegrate
Permanent Image
Chain Lightning
Dispel Magic, Greater

Last edited:

nhl_1997

First Post
Like all spell selections, it completely depends on the campaign environment and what you would like your character to do. With that in mind....

Assuming your character has used Dispel Magic fairly frequently, then Greater Dispel Magic is almost a must since Dispel Magic will not have much success against spells cast by "tougher" opponents.

Disintegrate is an excellent all-around spell. However, if you only want it for combat purposes, then it might not be a good choice (only 5d6 damage on a successful fort save.)

Given that you have spell focus enchantment, you might want to consider mass suggestion.

If you're interested in a bit of self-help or party-member help, Greater Heroism can work wonders.

Herpes Cineplex

First Post