I made a campaign and mapping software that runs in the browser

playest

First Post
Hi!

I DMed quite a lot for the last few month and I was disappointed at the existing tools existing to draw maps. Being a developer I thought "I'll make my own! It can't be that complicated". It was. But that's not the point :D

So I made this : http://hextml.playest.net

It's a web-based tool to draw maps with hexagons (or squares if you want but it's hexagons by default). I'm pretty proud of it and I use it on my campaign try to share it with the WORLD!

If you plan on using it, a word of warning : everything is stored in your browser, I have no backup. Save you work on your own computer in the "Maps" tab.

I have a patreon if you want to support me or get news about updates and stuff.

I'll appreciate any remarks or help. Or, even better, post a picture of the map you made (download as image in the Maps tab).

Edit: version 5 is out, same website, same address :)

Last edited:

playest

First Post
I made a small update! The save and import buttons are more visible (they are now also in the toolbar on the top) and it works better on safari! Good mapping :)

andargor

Rule Lawyer Groupie
Supporter
Heya, I was just looking for something like that, a few things:

- How can you make the grid larger?
- How can you zoom in and out?
- Can you have 45 degree corridors on the grid map?

I'm going to post a thread about my specific needs, but I'll refer to yours :)

S

Sunseeker

Heya, I was just looking for something like that, a few things:

I'm not the Dev of this but I can answer a few questions:
1: Click on the "Maps" tab in the sidebar and you'll see an "Editor" with +/- buttons, these add/subtract new rows/columns. If the map becomes larger than the map window, you get scroll bars. I have not found a maximum.
2: As far as I have experimented, there is no zoom.
3: As far as I can tell, there are no diagonals. (but I've mostly been using hexes)

andargor

Rule Lawyer Groupie
Supporter