• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is LIVE! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

New to D&D - Level x magic item?

DadToD&DBoys

First Post
Hello All,

Brief intro...

It was my 10 year old that introduced me to D&D before Christmas, asking 1000's of questions about it. We started to learn about it together. During Christmas break we picked up the Red Box and my 10 year old and his 7 year old brother started sponging up everything. I soon realized two things: 1) that the Red Box was just the tip of the iceberg and there was so much more I needed to know, and 2) my kids absorb this information much quicker than I do. I haven't looked into related medical conditions, but if there's something called 'D&D on the Brain' - my kids have it.

We're currently working our way through the DM Kit's Harkenworld adventures and, to be honest, it's a little overwhelming as a total novice DM. I'm able to keep things flowing by adlibbing and roll playing where I don't have any idea of the rules.

So, onto my question...

A few of the rewards state 'level 2 (or 3 or 4) magic item'. Is there a list of magic items for each level? I missed it if it was in the included material.

I have many other questions, but I'll leave it at that for now.

Thanks for any help or advice,

Dad to D&D Boys.

Last edited:

Klaus

First Post
Go to the Rewards chapter in the DM's book or the Equipment chapter of the "Heroes" books. You'll see lists of magic items, and each magic item is usually available in more than one level. Pick a magic item of the appropriate level.

the Jester

Legend
I don't have the DM's Kit, but from what I've heard, there is a chapter of magic items in there, divided by level and rarity.

If I am wrong, apologies- both of the 'Heroes of the ...' books have small magic item selections in them in the equipment section.