• The VOIDRUNNER'S CODEX is coming! Explore new worlds, fight oppressive empires, fend off fearsome aliens, and wield deadly psionics with this comprehensive boxed set expansion for 5E and A5E!

Our Family's Playtest

kevtar

First Post
About us

My family and I recently moved to the Kingdom of Tonga, a small group of islands in the South Pacific. With the move came a SHORTAGE of opportunities to play D&D. My son and I were going crazy. Luckily, my wife and daughter decided to alleviate our suffering, and have started playing D&D with us. We are currently running a 1st edition AD&D game because my son (who is 18) wanted to play the edition that I “grew up” on. My daughter (14) and I take turns DMing.

When the playtest was announced, I asked them if they would be interested in participating and they all agreed. My oldest son is coming to Tonga in July and he'll be joining our playtest then.

The DM

I am a 41 year-old college professor who has played D&D since the early 80s. I’ve played all editions from the Moldvay rules to 4th edition. I play a Drow wizard in our 1st edition AD&D game. I've enjoyed all editions of D&D and don't get hung up in edition wars. My motto is, "play what's fun and support the hobby."

The Slayer
(My wife) She and I have been married for 22 years. She has never played D&D consistently until recently. Prior to this year, she had played D&D about 5 or 6 times, but never really enjoyed playing the game. However, she has been playing an elf thief in our current 1st edition AD&D game and has become much more involved.

The Cleric of Moradin
(My daughter) She is 14 years old and is an avid video game player (Halo, Skyrim, Dynasty warriors, etc). She has played 3.5 and 4e, but not very often. She has been playing a Drow cleric in our weekly 1st edition AD&D game. Her main motivation in playing is to make dad happy, lol. However, there are times when she really enjoys the experience, and she REALLY enjoys DMing... a little too much in fact :-S