The Insidious Threat

Nyaricus

First Post
Well, having never done a story hour before, this might be a bit rough -- at best :p

In any case, I have a large-scale campaign planned in Faerun, starting in Hlondeth, the City of Serpents. The heroes will, soon enough, find themselves over their heads in a miasma of plots, problems and power-struggle.

First, a bit of background (please excuse if this gets a bit wordy, I just want to get out there what the goals are in my mind for this campaign): I've been DMing since February of 2005 (or about 1 1/2 years at this point) and have gone through 2 groups (and am now with my third) since then - though my two best friends Trev and Brian have been through these changes with me. I've DMed a group as large as 12 at once during one session, and as low as 3, and prefer something like 4-8 players, on average. However, I still largely consider myself a DMing noobie, and I am trying to make my campaigns more dynamic, and up the ROLE-playing aspect of it with whatever skills I can come up with. Thus far, we've had two sessions (plus a session devoted to character creation and campaign goals) and it's been moreso on the positive side of the sucess/failure spectrum, by and large, which is encouraging :) I also want this to be a long-term campaign, and go from a low level (we're starting at 3) to ~level 20. I can't wait to see what happens with this :)

In any case, my friend Trevor is on a half-year-long trip with Canada World Youth Org, and won't be back til December, so I am down one player. In the group right now is: Janelle, a friend of mine from highschool; my buddy Brian (another highschool friend); Max, a friend I met via work; Hughie and Ashley, a couple I met via D&D Meetups; and Mark, another one met via D&D Meetups.

Here is the party at the start of the campaign:
Ashley - Chondathan Wild Elf Animal Shape Druid 3
Brian - hasn't been able to play yet; no character.
Hughie - Sembian Lightfoot Halfling Beguiler 3