Who are the really interesting modern TTRPG designers?

Reynard

Legend
I'll post a free PDF link so that way it's not like I'm trying to make money/advertise here. Keep in mind the PDF is still under construction; part 4 hasn't been laid out yet, and we're still going through and filling in some blanks and fixing formatting errors, but largely it's done so far. I also post this knowing that 5E designers often aren't what's wanted in these kinds of indie discussions but my inspirations are all indie View attachment 355794

I've been working for a few years now trying to create a version of the 5E combat and storytelling experience that better suit the games I like to run -- high-octane, cinematic combats mixed with compelling and real storytelling moments and explicitly asymmetrical in balance between players and GM instead of 5E's assumed balanced state.

I wanted skirmishes, easier and more cinematic actions to take in combat, ways to fight large numbers of opponents without having to use a lot of seperate monsters on a map, and ways to make boss battles against solo creatures actually work well. I also wanted to figure out ways to create tools for improving + prepping environmental things and Battlefield Assets (which I'm actually rewriting for the book now) that can be used on-demand. Lastly, I wanted to create a game that helped the DM keep pace without forcing them too while also giving a huge number of levers to create narrative and cinematic scenarios.

On top of this, I spent a huge number of months working on a character generator that not only on-boarded you to the game world but that gave you a compelling and easy to understand character despite the complete strange baroqueness of the setting. This is my greatest achievement in the book, and is at the front of Tablet 2.