goliath path and powers

sammy

First Post
My Goliath player took the Stoneblessed p path, and gains a reach of 2 with melee attacks.

He also has a power that is close burst 1. Does his new reach affect this? I didn't think so, as well did he, but we wanted to be sure.

Sammy
 

log in or register to remove this ad


Reach only affects powers with a range of 'weapon' that use a melee weapon.

So if it said 'Close 1' that's a range of 1 regardless of if you're using a reach weapon or not. However, if it said 'Melee weapon' then it would.

You're looking for the word 'weapon' after the attack type, and if it is there, you can plug in the range/reach of your weapon. Otherwise, it's predefined.
 

Reach only affects powers with a range of 'weapon' that use a melee weapon.

So if it said 'Close 1' that's a range of 1 regardless of if you're using a reach weapon or not. However, if it said 'Melee weapon' then it would.

You're looking for the word 'weapon' after the attack type, and if it is there, you can plug in the range/reach of your weapon. Otherwise, it's predefined.

Innate Reach also affects power that are Touch range(mainly Melee Touch, can't think of anything that was Close Burst Touch, but I guess it'd be possible). Touch attacks take into account your innate reach, but not any reach granted by a weapon.
 

Yeah, I didn't think of that, but you're right, touch is also extended by things that extend -your- reach but not your weapon.

Are there Close burst weapon powers?
 



In a somewhat related question, lets say a Goliath Avenger takes the Goliath path, gaining reach 2. Avenger has an at-will that lets them shift 1 and slide the target "1, into the space they left" or something like that.

If the target is 2 spaces away, and you slide them 1 into the space you left...what happens? 1 space is not enough to get them into the space you left.
 

In a somewhat related question, lets say a Goliath Avenger takes the Goliath path, gaining reach 2. Avenger has an at-will that lets them shift 1 and slide the target "1, into the space they left" or something like that.

If the target is 2 spaces away, and you slide them 1 into the space you left...what happens? 1 space is not enough to get them into the space you left.
In PHB2 on page 219 there's an insert 'Movement Effects' that elaborates on forced movement rules:
It says that if a movement effect specifies a destination, you either move to the destination or not at all. You cannot chose to let the movement end somewhere inbetween.

Now, if the effect specifies both a destination and a maximum number of squares that is too low to let you move to the destination, I'd say you cannot choose to let the move end at the destination, i.e. there's no move at all. That's just my interpretation, though, it's not explicit in the rules.
 

In PHB2 on page 219 there's an insert 'Movement Effects' that elaborates on forced movement rules:
It says that if a movement effect specifies a destination, you either move to the destination or not at all. You cannot chose to let the movement end somewhere inbetween.

Now, if the effect specifies both a destination and a maximum number of squares that is too low to let you move to the destination, I'd say you cannot choose to let the move end at the destination, i.e. there's no move at all. That's just my interpretation, though, it's not explicit in the rules.
This.
It seems as if the melee powers were designed for "Reach 1". Most of the powers that acknowledge extra reach (via weapon or ability) do so in a restrictive capacity (i.e. "melee 1" or "adjacent enemy").
 

Remove ads

Top