Charlaquin
Goblin Queen (She/Her/Hers)
Number of characters concentrating is still equal to number of spells being concentrated on, yes. However, the characters doing the concentrating don’t need to be able to actually cast the spell they’re concentrating on, they just need to have the spellcasting or pact magic feature. This means for the cost of a 1-level dip in any casting class, all of your otherwise Martial characters can also hold concentration on spells, so you could for example Haste all of your martials and have them each hold the concentration for their own instance of Haste, and you’d still have your own concentration slot available for something else.What? Those are the rules I've been talking about. Either 1) You have Concentration on one spell maintained by multiple casters, in which case the cost of doing that is it prevents those casters from using other Concentration spells or 2) You have your primary caster break Concentration to cast a second Concentration spell, while a secondary caster maintains the first one. In which case, all you're doing is shifting Concentration to another caster who can't use a Concentration spell themselves (and who might be better able to maintain Concentration if they take a hit), but that's hardly game-breaking. It's two Concentration spells going at the same time, but it's also two casters maintaining Concentration, so no different than if each caster had cast their own spell.
Honestly, I’m very surprised that circle casting doesn’t require secondary casters to actually be able to cast the spell they’re helping with. That seems like it would have been a much more salient requirement than just having the Spellcasting or Pact Magic feature.