+1lvl Spells/day & Spontaneous Casters

Quidam

First Post
When a prestige class gives you levels in spells/day, is it essentially useless for spontaneous casters, as it doesn't say it gives you levels in spells known? Or is this just assumed?

Well, maybe not useless, as it gives you more slots for the spells you already know, but it doesn't give you more spells known, does it?
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Please, sir! You insult me!

From the Main FAQ:

I can’t find any information about how many spells prestige
class spellcasters know. I am going on the presumption that
those that gain bonus spells per day of their existing class
(such as loremaster and spellsword) do not automatically
add additional spells to their spellbook as they gain levels.

They do add spells to their lists. For example, a wizard
/loremaster gains 2 spells for her spellbook when using a
loremaster level to increase spellcasting. A sorcerer/loremaster
would learn more spells as well. Adding spells to your
spellbook or personal repertoire is part of spellcasting.


-Hyp.
 

The MoF Errata also goes in and, line by line, specifies that "+1 spellcastign level" should also include "+1 level of spells known" -- not in those exact words, I'm not powerign up Adobe just to quote it), but, that exact meaning.
 

easy... easy...

Hypersmurf said:
Please, sir! You insult me!

Down, smurf, down. Not intended to be insulting, and if my choice of words seemed so, please accept my apologies. Thanks for the answers, both of you- what I figured, but didn't see anything in the books saying so.
 

While I wouldn't argue with you about sorcerers or bards, getting the two free spells to add to your spellbook is a wizard class ability and you do not get that unless the PrC says so.

Hypersmurf said:
A sorcerer or bard gets more spells known, and a wizard gets two spells to add to his book.

-Hyp.
 

rhammer2: Re-read the Main FAQ quote in Hyp's post.

It specifically states that wizards add spells to their books whenever they go up in a PrC that indicates +1 spell level of an existing class. It doesn't need to be specified in the PrC, and it should be automatic unless a specific PrC says that the wizard does NOT receive the extra spells.
 

Re: easy... easy...

Down, smurf, down. Not intended to be insulting, and if my choice of words seemed so, please accept my apologies.

Fear not, I'm teasing :)

While I wouldn't argue with you about sorcerers or bards, getting the two free spells to add to your spellbook is a wizard class ability and you do not get that unless the PrC says so.

Well, you could argue that, but you'd be wrong - odd as it may seem.

In my opinion, it should be the case, but it's not.

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top