Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
2 Questions- AoO & Tower Shields
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Fenros" data-source="post: 545796" data-attributes="member: 975"><p>I'm sure these are old questions that have already been talked about, but I hope you don't mind me bringing them up again. I couldn't find any recent threads that delt with these two questions I had.</p><p></p><p><strong>Attack of Opportunity</strong> : I couldn't print out the PDF file I downloaded from the WotC site for the PHB errata. I assumed they may have explained the AoO a bit better in there. Could someone kinda re-explain it to me?</p><p></p><p>In the PHB it says, " If you move <strong>within</strong> or out of a threatened area, you <strong>usually</strong> provoke an attack of opportunity. If all you do is move (not run) during your turn, the space that you start out in is not considered threatened, and therefore enemies do not get attacks of opportunity against you when you move from that space."</p><p></p><p>Okay, I've put the words that I have trouble with in bold. So, if I'm using hex maps (each hex is 5 feet), the enemy threatens the hexes around his hex right? So, let's say I'm already in that threatened ring of hexes around that enemy. I'm basically standing next to him in combat. Then I move to the next hex over, which is also in his threatened area. According to the book, that's moving <em>within</em> a threatened area. Does he get an AoO on me? </p><p></p><p>But since the move I just made is a 5' step, it says on Table 8-1(pg.122) that a 5' move doesn't provoke an AoO. If that's so, then if I maintain my movement each round to only move 5' inside a threatened area, I'm okay right? </p><p></p><p>Also, if I move 2 hexes in his threatened area, he gets an AoO on me right? Basically, that ring of hexes around his hex is threatened. I'm in one hex within the ring. I then move around him, in that ring of threatened hexes. I move 2 or 3 hexes for example, all within that ring, basically circling him, ....then he gets an AoO on me? Because i'm moving <em>within</em> his threatened area?</p><p></p><p>Does moving into a threatened area cause a AoO? Example: The enemy threatens that ring of hexes around him. I'm outside that ring. I move (not run) into that ring to stand beside him and attack. Does he get an AoO on me?</p><p></p><p>Okay, let's say I'm already in his threatened area. Then I move out of it. I shuffle back like 4 hexes (because I wanna back up and throw my dagger or whatever). He gets an AoO on me first right?</p><p></p><p>The PHB says, " If you move within or out of a threatened area, you <strong>usually</strong> provoke an attack of opportunity. Usually? When does moving out of a threatened area not provoke a AoO then?</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p><strong>Tower Shields</strong>: PHB says, " Basically, it is a portable wall meant to provide cover. It can provide up to total cover, depending on how far you come out from behind it." </p><p></p><p>So I assume I treat the Tower Shield not as armor, but as cover? If so, the PHB says (in the section concerning Cover), " Cover provides a bonus to your AC. The more cover you have, the bigger the bonus. In a melee, if you have cover against an opponent, that opponent <strong>probably</strong> has cover against you , too."</p><p></p><p>Probably? Does he or doesn't he? I assume he does. I player in my campaign has a tower shield. First time I've had to deal with this. If he is in melee, and is in half cover behind his tower shield he gets a +4 AC cover bonus from his attacker right? But, when he goes to attack the guy he is in melee with, that guy also has a +4 AC cover bonus too?</p><p></p><p></p><p>Thankyou for reading my long post. Thanks for any rules advice you can give me.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Fenros, post: 545796, member: 975"] I'm sure these are old questions that have already been talked about, but I hope you don't mind me bringing them up again. I couldn't find any recent threads that delt with these two questions I had. [B]Attack of Opportunity[/B] : I couldn't print out the PDF file I downloaded from the WotC site for the PHB errata. I assumed they may have explained the AoO a bit better in there. Could someone kinda re-explain it to me? In the PHB it says, " If you move [B]within[/B] or out of a threatened area, you [B]usually[/B] provoke an attack of opportunity. If all you do is move (not run) during your turn, the space that you start out in is not considered threatened, and therefore enemies do not get attacks of opportunity against you when you move from that space." Okay, I've put the words that I have trouble with in bold. So, if I'm using hex maps (each hex is 5 feet), the enemy threatens the hexes around his hex right? So, let's say I'm already in that threatened ring of hexes around that enemy. I'm basically standing next to him in combat. Then I move to the next hex over, which is also in his threatened area. According to the book, that's moving [I]within[/I] a threatened area. Does he get an AoO on me? But since the move I just made is a 5' step, it says on Table 8-1(pg.122) that a 5' move doesn't provoke an AoO. If that's so, then if I maintain my movement each round to only move 5' inside a threatened area, I'm okay right? Also, if I move 2 hexes in his threatened area, he gets an AoO on me right? Basically, that ring of hexes around his hex is threatened. I'm in one hex within the ring. I then move around him, in that ring of threatened hexes. I move 2 or 3 hexes for example, all within that ring, basically circling him, ....then he gets an AoO on me? Because i'm moving [I]within[/I] his threatened area? Does moving into a threatened area cause a AoO? Example: The enemy threatens that ring of hexes around him. I'm outside that ring. I move (not run) into that ring to stand beside him and attack. Does he get an AoO on me? Okay, let's say I'm already in his threatened area. Then I move out of it. I shuffle back like 4 hexes (because I wanna back up and throw my dagger or whatever). He gets an AoO on me first right? The PHB says, " If you move within or out of a threatened area, you [B]usually[/B] provoke an attack of opportunity. Usually? When does moving out of a threatened area not provoke a AoO then? [B]Tower Shields[/B]: PHB says, " Basically, it is a portable wall meant to provide cover. It can provide up to total cover, depending on how far you come out from behind it." So I assume I treat the Tower Shield not as armor, but as cover? If so, the PHB says (in the section concerning Cover), " Cover provides a bonus to your AC. The more cover you have, the bigger the bonus. In a melee, if you have cover against an opponent, that opponent [B]probably[/B] has cover against you , too." Probably? Does he or doesn't he? I assume he does. I player in my campaign has a tower shield. First time I've had to deal with this. If he is in melee, and is in half cover behind his tower shield he gets a +4 AC cover bonus from his attacker right? But, when he goes to attack the guy he is in melee with, that guy also has a +4 AC cover bonus too? Thankyou for reading my long post. Thanks for any rules advice you can give me. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
2 Questions- AoO & Tower Shields
Top