D&D 3E/3.5 3.0 to 3.5: Weapon Finesse and Power Attack

I seem to recall, in 3.0, text to the effect that one could not use Power Attack when one was wielding a weapon and benefitting from Weapon Finesse.

I can't find anything to that effect in the 3.5 rules. Instead, the rules mention being unable to Power Attack with a light weapon.

My questions are:

1) Am I completely off-base in my memory of 3.0?

2) If I'm not completely off-base, does that rule still apply in 3.5?

EDIT: Ahah!

Just saw this in the 3.5 FAQ. For some reason, it starts talking about Combat Expertise, but I think the rest of it still applies:

FAQ said:
Normally, you have to use a light weapon to benefit from the Weapon Finesse feat. You can also use a rapier or a spiked chain with Weapon Finesse. You cannot use the Power Attack feat with a light weapon. Can you use a spiked chain or a rapier and benefit from both Weapon Finesse and Power Attack at the same time?

Yes. A rapier or a spiked chain made for a creature of your size is not a light weapon, even when you're using the weapon with the Weapon Finesse feat. If you have both feats and use a rapier or a spiked chain, you can manage power and finesse in the same attack. Note that you must take both penalties to gain the benefits of both feats. For instance, if you decide to take a -1 penalty on attacks, you can use Weapon Finesse or Power Attack. Whereas if you take a -2 penalty on attacks, you can add +1 to your AC and +1 to your damage, or you can add +2 to your AC or your damage.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Yeah- whoever was answering that question had a serious brainfart, because they completely confused Weapon Finesse with Combat Expertise. But, I believe the principle is the same- yes, you can use Power Attack along with Weapon Finesse, provided that the weapon you are using is not a light weapon.
 

That's one of my favourite FAQ entries.

"The FAQ's official, even if it blatantly contradicts the PHB!" say they.
"Ah... so Weapon Finesse lets you add to AC for a penalty to attack rolls?" says I.

-Hyp.
 



Patryn of Elvenshae said:
I seem to recall, in 3.0, text to the effect that one could not use Power Attack when one was wielding a weapon and benefitting from Weapon Finesse.

I can't find anything to that effect in the 3.5 rules. Instead, the rules mention being unable to Power Attack with a light weapon.

My questions are:

1) Am I completely off-base in my memory of 3.0?
I believe so. As I recall, one of the heated discussions triggered by 3.5 was the change in Power Attack (going from "unrestricted" to "can't be used with light weapons, gets better with two-handed weapons") and how it screwed two-weapon fighters.
 

Remove ads

Top