D&D 3E/3.5 3.5: Casting while Flying in Wild Shape

milothethief

First Post
Hello all!

A druid in my party has opted to fly while in Wild Shape. He has the Natural Spell feat, which allows him to cast spells. My question is this:

Can he cast spells while flying, since the act of flying--flapping his wings--prohibits one from completing the somatic component of the spell?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

That's up to a DM to decide what is realistic, I would rule that it is OK but he can't move, he has to hover and cast but RAW he can cast and move freely in Wild Shape, that's kinda the point of the feat
 

the act of flying--flapping his wings--prohibits one from completing the somatic component of the spell?

I find no rule saying the above (and I looked at srd/dmg/rule comp and wotc archives). At wotc archives there are some pdf files about movement. "All about movement (Part Four)" states

If a creature begins its turn hovering, it can hover in place for the turn (no matter what its maneuverability)
and take a full-round action. A hovering creature cannot make wing attacks, but it can attack with all other
limbs and appendages it could use in a full attack. The creature can instead use a breath weapon or cast a
spell
instead of making physical attacks, if it could normally do so.
 
Last edited:


the act of flying--flapping his wings--prohibits one from completing the somatic component of the spell?

I would imagine that a bird form would naturally use its claws for somatic components, since they're more handlike. Doing them with your wings would be like a wizard trying to do them with his legs.
 

Remove ads

Top