Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
A few questions about Chain Spell
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="KarinsDad" data-source="post: 356839" data-attributes="member: 2011"><p>The actual text is:</p><p></p><p>"You can chain any spell that specifies a single target and has a range greater than touch."</p><p></p><p>Your definition of the phrase "specifies a single target" is different than other people's.</p><p></p><p>Your definition precludes any spell description that does not have the word "Target:" in its choice of aiming the spell.</p><p></p><p>Nowhere in the rules does it state that this is a proper definition of the phrase "specifies a single target". It doesn't state anywhere that a single target effect like a ray does not qualify. It is still a single target and it is still specified that way by default.</p><p></p><p>Your definition precludes any spell description that does have the word "Target:" in its choice of aiming the spell, but allows the spell to be targeted at one or more targets.</p><p></p><p>Nowhere in the rules does it state that this is a proper definition of the phrase "specifies a single target". It doesn't state anywhere that a multiple target spell which can affect a single target, like Magic Missile, does not qualify.</p><p></p><p>You are pretending that your interpretation is somehow the only correct one, but you have yet to prove that in any way.</p><p></p><p>To many of us, a single target is a single target. If the spell can be cast on a single target and it has a range greater than touch, then it qualifies.</p><p></p><p>Ours too is an interpretation. But, it is no better or no worse an interpretation than your method.</p><p></p><p>Now, if you could point to a rule where the phrase "specifies a single target" has the definition that you prescribe to it, then you would be correct. But, I can give you an example where this should not hold up: Dispel Magic. It can be an area, or it can be a single target. Are you claiming that if you cast a Targeted Dispel, that just because a Dispel Magic <strong>can</strong> be cast as an Area Dispel, the fact that it does not specify <strong>only</strong> a single target disqualifies it for the Chain Spell feat? In fact, the Area portion of Dispel Magic is listed under "Target or Targets", whereas it should be listed under "Effect". Hmmmm.</p><p></p><p>You are already claiming that if you cast a Magic Missile at a single target, that it does not qualify. Is Dispel Magic any different than Magic Missile? If so, how?</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="KarinsDad, post: 356839, member: 2011"] The actual text is: "You can chain any spell that specifies a single target and has a range greater than touch." Your definition of the phrase "specifies a single target" is different than other people's. Your definition precludes any spell description that does not have the word "Target:" in its choice of aiming the spell. Nowhere in the rules does it state that this is a proper definition of the phrase "specifies a single target". It doesn't state anywhere that a single target effect like a ray does not qualify. It is still a single target and it is still specified that way by default. Your definition precludes any spell description that does have the word "Target:" in its choice of aiming the spell, but allows the spell to be targeted at one or more targets. Nowhere in the rules does it state that this is a proper definition of the phrase "specifies a single target". It doesn't state anywhere that a multiple target spell which can affect a single target, like Magic Missile, does not qualify. You are pretending that your interpretation is somehow the only correct one, but you have yet to prove that in any way. To many of us, a single target is a single target. If the spell can be cast on a single target and it has a range greater than touch, then it qualifies. Ours too is an interpretation. But, it is no better or no worse an interpretation than your method. Now, if you could point to a rule where the phrase "specifies a single target" has the definition that you prescribe to it, then you would be correct. But, I can give you an example where this should not hold up: Dispel Magic. It can be an area, or it can be a single target. Are you claiming that if you cast a Targeted Dispel, that just because a Dispel Magic [b]can[/b] be cast as an Area Dispel, the fact that it does not specify [b]only[/b] a single target disqualifies it for the Chain Spell feat? In fact, the Area portion of Dispel Magic is listed under "Target or Targets", whereas it should be listed under "Effect". Hmmmm. You are already claiming that if you cast a Magic Missile at a single target, that it does not qualify. Is Dispel Magic any different than Magic Missile? If so, how? [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
A few questions about Chain Spell
Top