Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
A few rules questions
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Hypersmurf" data-source="post: 4570832" data-attributes="member: 1656"><p>There are three main relevant sections.</p><p></p><p>p290 A/ <em>Threatening Reach: Some creatures have an ability called threatening reach. This lets them make opportunity attacks against nonadjacent enemies. If an enemy leaves a square that's within the creature's reach, or if an enemy anywhere within the creature's reach makes a ranged attack or an area attack, the creature can make an opportunity attack against that enemy.</em></p><p></p><p>So if you are two squares away and shift adjacent to the creature with threatening reach, you have left a square that's within the creature's reach; per A/, you will provoke.</p><p></p><p>So is there anything that says otherwise?</p><p></p><p>p292 B/ <em>No Opportunity Attacks: If you shift out of a square adjacent to an enemy, you don't provoke an opportunity attack.</em></p><p></p><p>Is this applicable to the given scenario? No, it is not; you are not shifting out of a square adjacent to an enemy. B/ provides no exception to the rule in A/ that your movement provokes from the creature with threatening reach.</p><p></p><p>But how about:</p><p>p290 C/ <em>Moving Provokes: If an enemy leaves a square adjacent to you, you can make an opportunity attack against that enemy. However, you can't make one if the enemy shifts or teleports or is forced to move away by a pull, a push, or a slide.</em></p><p></p><p>Well, this may or may not provide an exception to A/. Read in isolation, "you can't make [an OA] if the enemy shifts" is an exception to A/; you are shifting, so the enemy with threatening reach can't make an OA.</p><p></p><p>However, the sentence is not an isolated one; it is part of a paragraph that begins with "if an enemy leaves a square adjacent to you". So it depends on whether this condition limits the entire paragraph or not.</p><p></p><p>Is the sentence C1/ "However, you can't make [an OA] if the enemy shifts"? Or is it C2/ "However, you can't make [an OA against the enemy who leaves a square adjacent to you] if the enemy shifts?</p><p></p><p>Case C1/ provides an exception to A/, and no OA is provoked. But C2/ provides no exception to A/, and the OA is still provoked, because under B/ and C2/, a shift only protects you from an OA if you are leaving an adjacent square, and in our scenario, we are leaving a non-adjacent square within the reach of an enemy with threatening reach.</p><p></p><p>-Hyp.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Hypersmurf, post: 4570832, member: 1656"] There are three main relevant sections. p290 A/ [i]Threatening Reach: Some creatures have an ability called threatening reach. This lets them make opportunity attacks against nonadjacent enemies. If an enemy leaves a square that's within the creature's reach, or if an enemy anywhere within the creature's reach makes a ranged attack or an area attack, the creature can make an opportunity attack against that enemy.[/i] So if you are two squares away and shift adjacent to the creature with threatening reach, you have left a square that's within the creature's reach; per A/, you will provoke. So is there anything that says otherwise? p292 B/ [i]No Opportunity Attacks: If you shift out of a square adjacent to an enemy, you don't provoke an opportunity attack.[/i] Is this applicable to the given scenario? No, it is not; you are not shifting out of a square adjacent to an enemy. B/ provides no exception to the rule in A/ that your movement provokes from the creature with threatening reach. But how about: p290 C/ [i]Moving Provokes: If an enemy leaves a square adjacent to you, you can make an opportunity attack against that enemy. However, you can't make one if the enemy shifts or teleports or is forced to move away by a pull, a push, or a slide.[/i] Well, this may or may not provide an exception to A/. Read in isolation, "you can't make [an OA] if the enemy shifts" is an exception to A/; you are shifting, so the enemy with threatening reach can't make an OA. However, the sentence is not an isolated one; it is part of a paragraph that begins with "if an enemy leaves a square adjacent to you". So it depends on whether this condition limits the entire paragraph or not. Is the sentence C1/ "However, you can't make [an OA] if the enemy shifts"? Or is it C2/ "However, you can't make [an OA against the enemy who leaves a square adjacent to you] if the enemy shifts? Case C1/ provides an exception to A/, and no OA is provoked. But C2/ provides no exception to A/, and the OA is still provoked, because under B/ and C2/, a shift only protects you from an OA if you are leaving an adjacent square, and in our scenario, we are leaving a non-adjacent square within the reach of an enemy with threatening reach. -Hyp. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
A few rules questions
Top