A halfling's Lance

Shuffle

First Post
Does it have reach? That's all I need to know. Just curious and I want to make a little tiny pally to play mounted combat in a dungeon.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes-reach weapons have reach regardless of size. It modifies the reach of the user-so for a Tiny creature, a reach weapon has 5' reach, while for a Large(tall) creature, it has 15/20' reach; but for Small or Medium, it's 10' reach, since 'natural' reach for creatures of that size is 5'.
 


Oh, that's the 3.5 answer, by the way. In 3.0, only heavy lances have reach, and that would be a 2-handed weapon for a Small character. It's not entirely clear to me how that would work, actually, in v. 3.0 ...
 

Shuffle said:
wow, thats great.

It depends. You and your Dog mount cannot attack the same square.

(And strictly by RAW, you cannot make lance charge with a mount with 5-foot reach. One of the most silliest error in 3.5e.)
 


Lord Pendragon said:
What rules cites are leading you to this conclusion, Shin?

The "Mounted Combat" rule. And "Charge" rule.

From "Mounted Combat"
If your mount charges, you also take the AC penalty associated with a charge. If you make an attack at the end of the charge, you receive the bonus gained from the charge. When charging on horseback, you deal double damage with a lance (see Charge).

From "CHARGE"
First, you must move to the closest space from which you can attack the opponent. (If this space is occupied or otherwise blocked, you can't charge.)


That is mount, not the rider, who makes the charge. Thus, the mount follows the charge rule. So the mount must move to "the closest space from which you can attack the opponent". As the mount has only 5-foot reach, the mount ends the movement in a space adjacent to the target.

Now, the rider "receive the bonus gained from the charge" only if he "make an attack at the end of the charge". But "at the end of the charge" he cannot attack with his lance as the horse (and the rider) is adjacent to the target.
 

Actually it's you who makes the move. I believe that your move action is spent using the mounts movement rate.

That would be the move action ride check if I'm not mistaken. Also for movement purposes the mount and rider are considered one being so to speak.
 
Last edited:

Shuffle said:
Actually it's you who makes the move. I believe that your move action is spent using the mounts movement rate.

That is correct. It counts as your move, even though the horse is moving while you sit on it.

What an odd interpretation...

The Auld Grump
 

Shuffle said:
Actually it's you who makes the move. I believe that your move action is spent using the mounts movement rate.

Unfortunately, that is not true.

From "MOUNTED COMBAT"

Your mount acts on your initiative count as you direct it. You move at its speed, but the mount uses its action to move.

So the mount is using the move action when it moves. And charge is now a full-round action anyway.

You cannot make full-melee attack when the mount moves because,

From "MOUNTED COMBAT"
If your mount moves more than 5 feet, you can only make a single melee attack. Essentially, you have to wait until the mount gets to your enemy before attacking, so you can't make a full attack.

That is the reason. You are not "spending the move action". And actually,

From "MOUNTED COMBAT"
You can make a full attack with a ranged weapon while your mount is moving.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top