A troll and a flaming sphere.

fenzer

Librarian, Geologist, and Referee
A player of mine hit me with an interesting question last night and I would like some feedback on my ruling.

The troll had collapsed from subdual damage and was unconcious. The player parked his flaming sphere on the poor beast's head and let it simmer. His question was, "Can I coup de grace with my flaming sphere?" I told him, "No."

Later, I started thinking about it and wondered. He did put the sphere right on the things head. Since the caster can control the sphere, not unlike controlling a weapon, could the sphere be used to execute a coup de grace? I understand that there is a discrepancy of sorts. A coup de grace is a full round action and controlling the sphere is a movement equivalent action. This was the primary reason for ruling the way I did. But still I wonder.

So I ask you fellow players, can a flaming sphere be used to perform a coup de grace?

Thanks for the feedback.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

No, you cannot use Flaming Sphere for a CdG.

The PHB only mentions melee weapons, bows and crossbows, and it is obviuos that at least an attack with a high degree of precision is necessary. (I'd allow a Melf's Acid Arrow to CdG, for instance.)

A CdG is cutting the throat of a downed enemy, or something similar.
Flaming sphere is not a precision instrument, you can only direct what square it rolls through, no more.
 

I agree that you cannot CdG with a big, round, soft ball of flame. If the troll is unconscious, it'll maybe take a little while, but the flaming sphere will eventually burn it to a crisp (hmmm burnt troll)

Slim
 


I think the logic chain is something like:

1) You can CdG with a missile weapon (from within a certain range).
2) Ranged touch attacks count as missile attacks.
3) Spells which are ranged touch attacks can CdG.

Basically, if it has a Reflex save, the unconscious person fails it -- that's the "bonus damage" some spells get. Attack-roll spells get to CdG (and Sneak Attack) for "bonus damage" instead.

-- Nifft
 

Well, as Trolls regenerate from every part of their anatomy CdG should imo not apply - but of course the troll is as good as -fully- dead anyway.
 

Thanks for the help everyone.

After placing the sphere on the unconcious troll, the player needed to do nothing else but watch it burn. I was not about to hand out a CdG for free.

Magic Slim, you are exactly right. Granted the player had his hands full with other concerns but that is basically what he did, BBQed himself some troll.

Orbitalfreak, that is a good rule of thumb. I will remember it.
 
Last edited:

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top