Action Points Questions

spade413

First Post
I've been reading through the forums for the last month or two, and I've seen some really good advice handed out (or at the least, some very entertaining discussions :) ). I figure this is the place to go, since my group is starting our first Eberron adventure next weekend, which I'll be DMing, and none of us have interacted with Action Points before. I don't have the book in front of me (i'm the only one with the book atm, it's being passed around a lot as characters are being generated) but I think I'll give my questions a go without it. Please forgive anything I misquote.

Action points add 1d6 to the die roll. All fine and good. But, is this a bonus or a straight modifier to the die roll in question? In other words, on the roll of a natural 1, would the expenditure of an action point modify it up? Would it change a high roll potentially to a that of a 20, causing a critical threat? We play where a roll of a nat 20 is an autosuccess, and a 1 is an autofail

I can't see it working that way, and if I had to rule on it right now, I'd say that it's a bonus, and while it wouldn't change a "non crit threat roll" to a "crit threat", I'd probably allow for one to be spent on the roll of a natural one, to negate critical failure effects, and potenially cause success if the total value, including the roll of a 1, was high enough to suceed. It seems that even if that's not what the rules state, that it's absolutely in the spirit of what these are intended to do.

From the other persepctive, where the Action Point die is being used as an unnamed modifer to the roll, if the action die were spent on a potential crit (say, a roll of a 16 with a keen falchion), that the same value would then be added to the confimation roll, working on the assumption that this is covered under the statement that a confirmation roll is made with the same modifiers of the original roll.

So, anyone care to comment?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

spade413 said:
Action points add 1d6 to the die roll. All fine and good. But, is this a bonus or a straight modifier to the die roll in question? In other words, on the roll of a natural 1, would the expenditure of an action point modify it up? Would it change a high roll potentially to a that of a 20, causing a critical threat? We play where a roll of a nat 20 is an autosuccess, and a 1 is an autofail

No, I wouldn't view them as modifying the actual number on the d20; so, a 1 still misses, and a 20 still hits. In this way, they're no different from bonuses you'd add to the d20 rolls for ability score modifiers, BAB, etc.
 

Action points provide a player with a means to alter d20 rolls in dramatic situations, reflecting the luck that can change crushing failure into heroic success. Your character has a limited number of action points, and you must use them wisely, since you don't replentish this supply until your character attains a new level.

You can spend an action point to improve the result of

* an attack roll
* a skill check
* an ability check
* a level check
* a saving throw.


Certain feats and prestige class features allow you to spend action points in different ways, but this is their most basic use.

When you spend an action point, you add the result of a roll of 1d6 to your d20 roll to help you meet or exceed the target number of your roll. You can declare that you are spending an action point after you have already rolled the d20, but you must do so before the Dungeon Master reveals the result of your roll (whether the attack roll or check or saving throw succeeds or fails). You can't use an action point on a skill check or ability check when you are taking 10 or taking 20.

You can only use action points once in a round. If you spend 1 or more action points on a special action (see below), you can't spend a point in the same round to improve a die roll, and vice versa. No spell, power, or other special ability can allow a character to reroll an action point die. If a character suffers permanant level loss, he does not lose any action points he has remaining, and any subsequent level advancement provides new action points as normal.

If your character level is 8th or higher, you can roll more than one d6 when you spend an action point. If you do so, apply the highest result and disregard the other rolls. As a 15th-level character, for example, you can roll 3d6 and take the best result of the three. So, if you rolled 1, 2, and 4, you would apply the 4 to your d20 roll.

Characters of Level 1-7 roll 1d6 for each action point used. Characters 8-14th level roll 2d6 for each action point spent. Characters 15th-21th level roll 3d6 for each action point spent.

At first level, you have 5 action points. Each time you attain a new level, you gain a fresh supply of action points equal to 5 + 1/2 your level, rounded down. Any action points you didn't spend at your previous level are lost.

You determine your supply of action points after other issues related to level advancement have been resolved. In effect, this determation becomes step 10 in the process (see PHB p58-59).

Doesn't actually say. Will check the Wizards boards to see if they specify.
 

spade413 said:
Action points add 1d6 to the die roll. All fine and good. But, is this a bonus or a straight modifier to the die roll in question?
Um. "Bonus" and "Modifier" are pretty much the same thing (bonus is simply a positive modifier)

spade413 said:
In other words, on the roll of a natural 1, would the expenditure of an action point modify it up? Would it change a high roll potentially to a that of a 20, causing a critical threat? We play where a roll of a nat 20 is an autosuccess, and a 1 is an autofail
Ah. Simple answer: the bonus di(c)e does not change the nature of the d20 roll. A natural "1" on a d20 is still a natural "1," and therefore it is an automatic miss, regardless of any modifier, including the di(c)e result from action point.
 

Thanks for the responses. I agree, this is what I was taking from the description of Action Points as well, though I wasn't 100% positive. I feel much more confident in it now. Thanks again.
 

Remove ads

Top