Am I reading Polymorph Any Object wrong?

BlueBlackRed

Explorer
A cleric in my group has access to Polymorph Any Object.
And he has used it to change the tank of the group into a Leonal.

Granted the PC only gets some stat bonuses, movement bonuses, and a few minor claw attack bonuses, and that's fine.

It's the duration I'm not liking. The spell lasts a week.

Am I reading it right, or is the spell broken and I'm the last DM to find out?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

BlueBlackRed said:
Am I reading it right, or is the spell broken and I'm the last DM to find out?
Depends on which rules you follow.

According to the PH, PaO works like polymorph (with additional rules), and polymorph can't change a non-outsider into an outsider. In that case the spell is still broken, but your cleric will have to find another combat form for the tank. It shouldn't be hard.

Skip Williams, in his Rules of the Game articles on polymorph (part 4) says that PaO "can turn the subject into any other creature or object (but not an incorporeal or gaseous creature or object)". In that case you should be blissfully happy that the cleric didn't pick some truly powerful form. (Like an epic monster.)
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top