Egres
First Post
I was debating with a friend of mine about this problem: can i make a AoO in response to an opponent AoO?
I'm quite sure that the answer is yes, but then he replied me:
"No:the 3.0 FAQ clearly stated that you can't do that, and then, since WotC stated that, unless the FAQ 3.5 would negate this, the 3,0 FAQ remains valid, you can't make a AoO against a AoO!".
Who's right?
Just to add a (lol) "official" reference(
), this is the CustServ reply about this topic:
More in general: can an attack of opportunity cause an attack of opportunity?
And if not, where the manuals say it?
- Yes, you can provoke an attack of opportunity with your attack of opportunity.
How you think to resolve the situation described before if we can make a
loop of attacks of opportunity?
- Whenever you have a loop where the attack of opportunity causes another attack of opportunity, which provoke another, and so on, there is no limit to the number of attacks that can be provoked. Once one of the characters stops provoking an attack and actually makes an attack, then you resolve the attacks in the reverse order that they were provoked.
Thanks!
*Please quote this e-mail in any reply.*
Darrin
Wizards of the Coast Customer Service Department
Wizards of the Coast
1-800-324-6496
I'm quite sure that the answer is yes, but then he replied me:
"No:the 3.0 FAQ clearly stated that you can't do that, and then, since WotC stated that, unless the FAQ 3.5 would negate this, the 3,0 FAQ remains valid, you can't make a AoO against a AoO!".
Who's right?
Just to add a (lol) "official" reference(

More in general: can an attack of opportunity cause an attack of opportunity?
And if not, where the manuals say it?
- Yes, you can provoke an attack of opportunity with your attack of opportunity.
How you think to resolve the situation described before if we can make a
loop of attacks of opportunity?
- Whenever you have a loop where the attack of opportunity causes another attack of opportunity, which provoke another, and so on, there is no limit to the number of attacks that can be provoked. Once one of the characters stops provoking an attack and actually makes an attack, then you resolve the attacks in the reverse order that they were provoked.
Thanks!
*Please quote this e-mail in any reply.*
Darrin
Wizards of the Coast Customer Service Department
Wizards of the Coast
1-800-324-6496
Last edited: