StreamOfTheSky
Adventurer
Have to make a character build by this friday and had an idea for an ex-monk build that uses a longspear for 10 foot reach, while still threatening the area around him with his unarmed strike. The DM plans to have him wipe the floor with the party because they've been acting really cocky/stupid and seem to feel invincible. Part of the reason for this biuld is to knock out their orc meatshield in the first round (that ought to scare 'em!). Just not sure if I'm clear on how the rules for AoO and readying for a charge work.
Situation: My character sets against a charge, orc charges with his 5' reach melee weapon. Correct me if I'm wrong, but my character is entitled to an AoO with the spear because he is moving through my threatened area, and has yet to get within reach to threaten me, right? If this isn't true, then pretend it is for the next question. If I take that AoO, do I also get to uise my readied attack at X2 damage, or does using the AoO "lose" my set against the charge?
I'm assuming (thus going for this build), that my character would get both the AoO and the readied attack at X2 damage, thus putting the orc in a lot of hurt (especially if I use power attack, as charging does decrease AC).
Situation: My character sets against a charge, orc charges with his 5' reach melee weapon. Correct me if I'm wrong, but my character is entitled to an AoO with the spear because he is moving through my threatened area, and has yet to get within reach to threaten me, right? If this isn't true, then pretend it is for the next question. If I take that AoO, do I also get to uise my readied attack at X2 damage, or does using the AoO "lose" my set against the charge?
I'm assuming (thus going for this build), that my character would get both the AoO and the readied attack at X2 damage, thus putting the orc in a lot of hurt (especially if I use power attack, as charging does decrease AC).