Kris
Adventurer
In a upcoming adventure that I have planned it is quite possible that the players will spend some time on a rowboat, navigating a wide river.
Now I have a few 'random' type encounters that may happen along the way (depending on how things are progressing) - one of which could be an attack on the players while they are in the aforementioned rowboat.
So I was wondering what your opinions are on fighting from the boat.
Should the PC's be considered 'off-balance' (and therefore lose their Dex bonus to AC & have attackers get a +2 bonus on attacks)?
If so, should I allow them to make a balance check to avoid the above 'off-balance' penalties (i.e. DC10 for still waters, DC15 for moving waters, DC20 for fast paced water, etc...)
I know that there are various seafaring rule books out there that probably cover such stuff - but I am kinda unwilling to fork out the cash for one of those babies just for the sake of a simple river crossing.
So, do you think the above ruling would be fair? (or let me know if I have completely missed a similar ruling in one of the core rule books that covers such things).
Thanx in advance
(and sorry if a similar topic has already been discussed)
Now I have a few 'random' type encounters that may happen along the way (depending on how things are progressing) - one of which could be an attack on the players while they are in the aforementioned rowboat.
So I was wondering what your opinions are on fighting from the boat.
Should the PC's be considered 'off-balance' (and therefore lose their Dex bonus to AC & have attackers get a +2 bonus on attacks)?
If so, should I allow them to make a balance check to avoid the above 'off-balance' penalties (i.e. DC10 for still waters, DC15 for moving waters, DC20 for fast paced water, etc...)
I know that there are various seafaring rule books out there that probably cover such stuff - but I am kinda unwilling to fork out the cash for one of those babies just for the sake of a simple river crossing.
So, do you think the above ruling would be fair? (or let me know if I have completely missed a similar ruling in one of the core rule books that covers such things).
Thanx in advance

(and sorry if a similar topic has already been discussed)