Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
attacking without attacking
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Fanaelialae" data-source="post: 4958388" data-attributes="member: 53980"><p>That's irrelevant. Exceptions to the rule do not define that rule. It's like trying to argue that because Sure Strike gets a +2 to attack, all powers should get +2 to attack (obviously false). While <em>some</em> <strong>effects</strong> may require a target, the general rule defining <strong>effects</strong> quite notably excludes that requirement. Hence, unless the power itself defines the <strong>effect</strong> as requiring a target (Shield of Faith), the <strong>effect</strong> does <em>not</em> require a target.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>You'd be right except that, as I've pointed out several times, according to page 272 of the PHB you can target a square. As such, you <em>have</em> a something to target, even if it isn't a "target" in terms of hit/miss. You still trigger the <strong>effect</strong> because you have something to target for the <strong>effect</strong> (an empty square). </p><p></p><p>To put it in simpler terms, look at the cleric's Turn Undead power: </p><p>Assume the cleric is uncertain whether the creatures before him are undead (he's totally flubbed his Religion check). </p><p>Let's also assume that there are no undead in the area (but only the DM knows this). </p><p>Also, this cleric has a special (non-existent AFAIK) Pelor feat that adds to his Turn Undead the <strong>Effect:</strong> Your burst creates a zone that sheds bright light until the end of the encounter.</p><p>The cleric decides to use Turn Undead. </p><p>The cleric creates a close burst 2. He targets the squares around him, legally.</p><p>Unfortunately, there are no undead within the burst, and the targets of the power need to be undead.</p><p>As such, there is no legal target to determine hit/miss and we are forced to skip that step.</p><p>However, the <strong>effect</strong> is exempt from the "target" requirement, so the zone of light still occurs.</p><p></p><p>I think your confusion stems from the fact that target is used both as a verb and a noun. In the case on PHB page 272, we are looking at a verb (you can target a square). </p><p></p><p>That doesn't change the noun present in the power (ie, Target: one creature). However, as stated on PHB2 page 219, <strong>effects</strong> normally function irrespective of (noun) target. Only hit/miss are influenced by the noun. If you are lacking a target (noun) to target (verb) then you skip hit/miss resolution (which requires a noun target). You move onto the <strong>effect</strong> resolution which has the lesser requirement that the the power target (verb) <em>something</em> (a square, for example).</p><p></p><p><strong>Effects</strong> only need to target as a verb (because otherwise the point of origin would be undefined) because they aren't defined as requiring a target (noun) on page 219 of the PHB2. For <strong>effect</strong> targeting, all you need is a space, as explained on PHB page 272.</p><p></p><p>I can find no rule that states that without a (noun) target, an <strong>effect</strong> will not occur. PHB2 page 219 indicates otherwise.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Fanaelialae, post: 4958388, member: 53980"] That's irrelevant. Exceptions to the rule do not define that rule. It's like trying to argue that because Sure Strike gets a +2 to attack, all powers should get +2 to attack (obviously false). While [i]some[/i] [b]effects[/b] may require a target, the general rule defining [b]effects[/b] quite notably excludes that requirement. Hence, unless the power itself defines the [b]effect[/b] as requiring a target (Shield of Faith), the [b]effect[/b] does [i]not[/i] require a target. You'd be right except that, as I've pointed out several times, according to page 272 of the PHB you can target a square. As such, you [i]have[/i] a something to target, even if it isn't a "target" in terms of hit/miss. You still trigger the [b]effect[/b] because you have something to target for the [b]effect[/b] (an empty square). To put it in simpler terms, look at the cleric's Turn Undead power: Assume the cleric is uncertain whether the creatures before him are undead (he's totally flubbed his Religion check). Let's also assume that there are no undead in the area (but only the DM knows this). Also, this cleric has a special (non-existent AFAIK) Pelor feat that adds to his Turn Undead the [b]Effect:[/b] Your burst creates a zone that sheds bright light until the end of the encounter. The cleric decides to use Turn Undead. The cleric creates a close burst 2. He targets the squares around him, legally. Unfortunately, there are no undead within the burst, and the targets of the power need to be undead. As such, there is no legal target to determine hit/miss and we are forced to skip that step. However, the [b]effect[/b] is exempt from the "target" requirement, so the zone of light still occurs. I think your confusion stems from the fact that target is used both as a verb and a noun. In the case on PHB page 272, we are looking at a verb (you can target a square). That doesn't change the noun present in the power (ie, Target: one creature). However, as stated on PHB2 page 219, [b]effects[/b] normally function irrespective of (noun) target. Only hit/miss are influenced by the noun. If you are lacking a target (noun) to target (verb) then you skip hit/miss resolution (which requires a noun target). You move onto the [b]effect[/b] resolution which has the lesser requirement that the the power target (verb) [i]something[/i] (a square, for example). [b]Effects[/b] only need to target as a verb (because otherwise the point of origin would be undefined) because they aren't defined as requiring a target (noun) on page 219 of the PHB2. For [b]effect[/b] targeting, all you need is a space, as explained on PHB page 272. I can find no rule that states that without a (noun) target, an [b]effect[/b] will not occur. PHB2 page 219 indicates otherwise. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
attacking without attacking
Top