Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Rocket your D&D 5E and Level Up: Advanced 5E games into space! Alpha Star Magazine Is Launching... Right Now!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Augment Summoning, and Wands
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Lord Pendragon" data-source="post: 2896712" data-attributes="member: 707"><p>I don't know of a quote offhand that directly says "Augment Summoning applies to wands" or "Augment summoning does not apply to wands." I know how I interpret the rules, and the basis for my interpretation. Let me clarify that.</p><p></p><p>First of all, for reference once again, the feat itself:</p><p></p><p>So the question becomes, what does "each creature you conjure" mean? Does it refer to any magical effect that summons a creature under your control, or does it refer to something more specific?</p><p></p><p>I see it as refering specifically to the <a href="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/actionsInCombat.htm#standardCastaSpell" target="_blank">Cast a Spell</a> action. When you perform the Cast a Spell action in combat, your relevant feats--such as Spell Focus, Spell Penetration, and Augment Summoning--come into play.</p><p></p><p>Wands, on the other hand, are not used with the Cast a Spell action. Instead, they function as an <a href="http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/actionsInCombat.htm#activateMagicItem" target="_blank">Activate Magic Item</a> action. Now, if we look into the rules governing the Activate Magic Item action, there is a distinction between spell completion items, and spell trigger, command word, and use-activated magic items. The part I'd like to draw your attention to is the following:Note that this text does not appear when discussing any of the other kinds of magic items. It seems to me, therefore, that activating a non-Spell Completion magic item is <em>not</em> the equivalent of casting a spell.</p><p></p><p>And what kind of magic item is a wand? Spell-Trigger. i.e. <em>not</em> the equivalent of casting a spell.</p><p></p><p>So if you take "each creature you conjure" to refer to you casting the spell, then an argument could be made for it applying to spells activated from scrolls. But it seems fairly clear to me that such an argument cannot be made regarding wands, which are not the equivalent of casting a spell.</p><p></p><p>Now, if I were to interpret "each creature you conjure" to refer to any creature brought under one's control through a conjuration effect, then a fighter with a <em>ring of spell storing</em> might conceivably pick up Augment Summoning and use it on spells cast from the <em>ring</em>. This is untenable to me. Surely, the feat should be effective because of some effect the feat-bearer has on the casting of the spell. i.e. because he is casting it himself.</p><p></p><p>So in essence, I take "each creature you conjure" to mean you need to be casting the spell yourself, specifically taking the Cast a Spell action. Wands fall under the Use Magic Item action, the rules of which specifically do <em>not</em> grant it any equivalency to actually casting the spell, which would be the only mitigating factor that might allow the feat to apply.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Lord Pendragon, post: 2896712, member: 707"] I don't know of a quote offhand that directly says "Augment Summoning applies to wands" or "Augment summoning does not apply to wands." I know how I interpret the rules, and the basis for my interpretation. Let me clarify that. First of all, for reference once again, the feat itself: So the question becomes, what does "each creature you conjure" mean? Does it refer to any magical effect that summons a creature under your control, or does it refer to something more specific? I see it as refering specifically to the [URL=http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/actionsInCombat.htm#standardCastaSpell]Cast a Spell[/URL] action. When you perform the Cast a Spell action in combat, your relevant feats--such as Spell Focus, Spell Penetration, and Augment Summoning--come into play. Wands, on the other hand, are not used with the Cast a Spell action. Instead, they function as an [URL=http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/actionsInCombat.htm#activateMagicItem]Activate Magic Item[/URL] action. Now, if we look into the rules governing the Activate Magic Item action, there is a distinction between spell completion items, and spell trigger, command word, and use-activated magic items. The part I'd like to draw your attention to is the following:Note that this text does not appear when discussing any of the other kinds of magic items. It seems to me, therefore, that activating a non-Spell Completion magic item is [i]not[/i] the equivalent of casting a spell. And what kind of magic item is a wand? Spell-Trigger. i.e. [i]not[/i] the equivalent of casting a spell. So if you take "each creature you conjure" to refer to you casting the spell, then an argument could be made for it applying to spells activated from scrolls. But it seems fairly clear to me that such an argument cannot be made regarding wands, which are not the equivalent of casting a spell. Now, if I were to interpret "each creature you conjure" to refer to any creature brought under one's control through a conjuration effect, then a fighter with a [i]ring of spell storing[/i] might conceivably pick up Augment Summoning and use it on spells cast from the [i]ring[/i]. This is untenable to me. Surely, the feat should be effective because of some effect the feat-bearer has on the casting of the spell. i.e. because he is casting it himself. So in essence, I take "each creature you conjure" to mean you need to be casting the spell yourself, specifically taking the Cast a Spell action. Wands fall under the Use Magic Item action, the rules of which specifically do [i]not[/i] grant it any equivalency to actually casting the spell, which would be the only mitigating factor that might allow the feat to apply. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Augment Summoning, and Wands
Top