Beating SR with items? or Does SR apply to items?

Lamoni

First Post
My question specifically comes from using a Circlet of Blasting, major against monsters with SR. What do you do? The item is duplicating a spell, but it isn't a scroll or a wand and I couldn't find any rule about SR from wondrous items. If SR applies, what would you roll to beat the SR? Would it be different if you were a Cleric vs. a Fighter using it? Also, the wearer of the circlet still needs to make a ranged touch attack (from the spell description) right?

Although my question is specifically about the circlet of blasting, I am more curious about the general ruling about any offensive wondrous item in regards to spell resistance. (We just retired our characters who had the circlet)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

If the spell is subject to spell resistance, and the item is using the spell, then the item is subject to spell resistance.

In the case of Spell Resistance, you roll 1d20 + the caster level of the item. So if the Circlet of Blasting is at 5th caster level, then it would be 1d20 + 5. It doesn't matter who's using it- a Cleric would have the same odds as a Fighter, as neither one is really doing any of the work.
 

UltimaGabe said:
If the spell is subject to spell resistance, and the item is using the spell, then the item is subject to spell resistance.

In the case of Spell Resistance, you roll 1d20 + the caster level of the item. So if the Circlet of Blasting is at 5th caster level, then it would be 1d20 + 5. It doesn't matter who's using it- a Cleric would have the same odds as a Fighter, as neither one is really doing any of the work.
Does that mean you have to look up the requirements to create the item and figure out what the minimum caster level is? If you have the party cleric create it, do you get to use his/her caster level rather than the minimum? What if the cleric had spell penetration and greater spell penetration? Would the items he/she made also be better at overcoming SR?

It seems like it sure would be easier if they would list it in the item description. At least they could mention the minimum caster level since most things are purchased rather than made (in our campaigns anyway).

And thanks for the reply. It is appreciated, it just brought up more questions I had.
 
Last edited:

You simply look at the Magic Item description in the DMG, and look at the "Caster Level" section. For purchased items, that's the caster level it's going to be made at- if you make it yourself, well, that's one of the lesser-well-explained sections of the game. So for simplicity's sake, just go by the little "Caster Level" entry.
 

Lamoni said:
Does that mean you have to look up the requirements to create the item and figure out what the minimum caster level is?
Just look for the "CL" in the last paragraph of the item's discription.

Lamoni said:
If you have the party cleric create it, do you get to use his/her caster level rather than the minimum?
According to p215, in the DMG, the creator has a little bit of leeway on the caster levels for potions, scrolls, and wands. For everything else, it implies (but doesn't explicitly say) the item's listed caster level is a fixed level, even if the other prerequisites require the creator to have a higher caster level than listed. I think there's an ongoing debate on this though.

Lamoni said:
What if the cleric had spell penetration and greater spell penetration? Would the items he/she made also be better at overcoming SR?
DM's discretion, I suppose. I'd say it only applies to spells you cast, not items you use and/or create.

Lamoni said:
It seems like it sure would be easier if they would list it in the item description. At least they could mention the minimum caster level since most things are purchased rather than made (in our campaigns anyway).
It is listed. My DMG says the Major Circlet of Blasting's CL is 17th.
 

The creator having Spell Penetration would apply just as much as the creator having all of his ability scores at 40. The DC on a Wand is ALWAYS the minimum, regardless of the creator's ability scores or feats. Likewise, items would never benefit from feats like Spell Penetration unless the item specifically granted it. Basically, none of the creator's personal stuff gets transferred to items besides the bare minimum.
 

I doubt they even bother with listing the creator as having various feats/ability scores to modify the minimum caster level on an item. Now if your cleric made it, then all that could apply.
 


Lamoni said:
It seems like it sure would be easier if they would list it in the item description.

They do. There is a "Caster Level" entry in every magic item description. That's the only thing you need to look at. (Just agreeing with previous posters here.)

Lamoni said:
If you have the party cleric create it, do you get to use his/her caster level rather than the minimum? What if the cleric had spell penetration and greater spell penetration? Would the items he/she made also be better at overcoming SR?

Per the DMG, the creator can set the caster level of a potion, scroll, or wand to whatever they choose (up to their own level -- with prices calculated per the PHB formulas for these items). For other items, the caster level is fixed per the item description. (3.5 DMG errata changed this last aspect, but still provides no official way to adjust the pricing for such changes, so doesn't completely make sense on that score.) Spell focus, penetration, or high ability scores never make any difference for such purposes: the listed "Caster Level" is the only thing that applies.

www.superdan.net/dndfaq2.html
 

dcollins said:
They do. There is a "Caster Level" entry in every magic item description. That's the only thing you need to look at. (Just agreeing with previous posters here.)
I also agree with all the other posters here... I just missed it. When I posted that, I hadn't actually looked for it, I had just read the description and was going from memory. My eyes skip over most of the bottom content by habit I guess.

Thanks for all the responses.
 

Remove ads

Top