Bebilith's rend armor, free or move action?

Rob-hin

First Post
I have a little disagreement with a player in the quest I'm DM'ing.

Is Bebilith's Rend armor a free action or a standard action?

Rend armor:
If a Bebilith hits with both claws attacks, it pulls apart any armor worn by it's foe. It deals 4d6+18 damage to the opponent's armor.... etc
It's a extra ordinary ability.

The Bebilith has 3 attacks, 2 claws and a bite.

* My reasoning is this:
If both claws hit (thus roll high enough to hit the opponent) it does normal damage to it's opponent. Both his claws passed by his opponent's armor, when the Bebilith pulls his claws back, it tries to pull off any armor worn by its opponent and thus does damage to the armor. (if the hardness doesn't stop the damage) Extraordinary abilities are usually free actions since they happen in a reactive fashion. (like the uncanny dodge ability)

* My player's reasoning is this:
The Bebilith's rend armor is a equivalent of a standard action, thus an attack. The same counts for doing damage. It can not do both damage AND try to rip apart the armor. The fact that it is a extraordinary ability is only important for spell resistance and other things like it.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Does this player also think a troll's rend takes an extra action?

You're correct, imo; the rend armor ability is like so many other 'if it hits' special attacks, including improved grab, rend, etc. It's a part of the claw attacks.
 

the Jester said:
Does this player also think a troll's rend takes an extra action?

You're correct, imo; the rend armor ability is like so many other 'if it hits' special attacks, including improved grab, rend, etc. It's a part of the claw attacks.
I'll second this...


Mike
 


Rob-hin said:
I have a little disagreement with a player in the quest I'm DM'ing.

Is Bebilith's Rend armor a free action or a standard action?

Rend armor:
If a Bebilith hits with both claws attacks, it pulls apart any armor worn by it's foe. It deals 4d6+18 damage to the opponent's armor.... etc
It's a extra ordinary ability.

Check the wording for Girallon and Troll. In both cases, it specifies that the rend ability is automatic (it's neither a free action nor a standard action - it just happens). I would suggest treating the bebilith's rend ability in the same way.

BTW, a rules lawyer might argue that the bebilith's rend ability does not work as the others' do, since the designers did not specifically say it does. Of course, with that reasoning, it doesn't work as a free or standard action either, since the designers didn't specifically say so. In which case, rule zero the ability.
 


I have found that, in the past, a graphic demo is usually called for. In this case, the obstinate player can be induced to back down by first, allowing him to equip a suitable piece of armor, and then starting up a chainsaw and asking if he wants to see a real-life demo of "rend armor"....with damage to the wearer.

I guarantee he will drop this issue.
 

Remove ads

Top