Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Beholder Antimagic Ray vs Wiz Antimagic field
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Frostbiter01" data-source="post: 6825554" data-attributes="member: 6677201"><p>First let me thank you for the help. Though I may not accept an answer in full especially if it is subjective many of these answers have helped me and I plan on changing their use going forward. It is evident that some who are answering either are not playing 3.5 or have not played it in a while. Some are playing PF or 3.0 for sure. So I need to sift through what is stated opinion and stated rules and if those rules are sanctioned by Wizards of the Coast/TSR. </p><p></p><p>The rules say nothing to support the Beholder cannot turn multiple times in a round thus the fly description. It says it may fire 3 eyes in each 90 degree arc. If it were standing still with the eyes open then there are three arcs (even if tilting) that 3 eyes which is 9 of their 10 firing around the room. If the big eye is closed that would mean 12 but the eyes can fire only once or do you assume that means 12 can fire since they are fee actions? I mean the wording does say 3!</p><p></p><p>If you make a 3 dimensional model you will find that these arcs are also 3 dimensional. Now if you draw them coming over top of the beholder you will find a spot where they all meet at a single square or point (if no grid). At this point a flying creature could easily straddle all the arcs and get fired on by all of them. Because he was in the 90 degree arc that is specified by the rules. </p><p></p><p>Furthermore the rules state, "A beholder can tilt and pan its body each round to change which rays (eyes) it can bring to bear in any given arc." This one sentence people are basing their whole argument. My first question was if it was having to tilt to bring finger of death against a wizard does that mean I need to map out where these eyes are or are they like the pic posted earlier in this thread that shows the eyes so long they can fire in any arc? No one said they mapped the eyes out which is what this sentence was saying to do or so I thought. </p><p></p><p>The second part this has to work with his Flyby attack feat and the fact that he can move 20' twice in a round and the eye rays are free actions. He does not have to stop to fire rays. Ahh but if you go forward about 10' wont who was covered in the front arc by the eye now be in the left arc or the right arc and be fired upon. Your rendering is basically saying well if they started in this arc the beholder can't move forward or turn to put them in another arc twice in the same round. That makes no sense. You are interpreting this from the player perspective such as "I want to stay in this arc so he can only hit me with those 3 rays or just the antimagic ray cuz Lord knows he can’t hit me with that and turn? Really? Lets also add the fact these creatures are super intelligent more so than the players who with this knowledge may just try to stay in one arc.</p><p></p><p>I am not sure if you use minis and a battle map but it makes more sense if you do. It basically saying that at any point along my 20' plus 20' of movement I can only bring 3 rays to bear in a 90 degree arc or the big eye with anti- magic if I decided it should stay open this round. Though it can hover, its fly speed is rated as Good so there is a turning arc if he went down and wanted to turn around and come back this time with the opposite eyes facing you again, they can only fire once per round, it would be allowed because it still meets the rule that only 3 (at the given time) can fire in that arc. </p><p></p><p>So when you say why ask, because I am looking for more precise answers. If you don't play with minis then you won’t see what I just talked about, if you did you would see how preposterous what you are saying looks like if you put it into motion. I can hear the fighter now as I move down the passage with the Beholder. "Wait I was already in one arc (the anti-Magic ray) so no matter how close he gets and I end up on his side he can’t hit me this round with those other eyes! No wonder these epic creatures die so easily. These rules are from the monsters point of view and the Lords of Madness seem to describe it the same way when it says what the eyes can see, the perspective is from the Beholder not the players. </p><p></p><p>So as I said many of the answers are great, some are just not making sense and don't play out well on the battle map. I wish others would also take some advice on this too and see it from a different view.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Frostbiter01, post: 6825554, member: 6677201"] First let me thank you for the help. Though I may not accept an answer in full especially if it is subjective many of these answers have helped me and I plan on changing their use going forward. It is evident that some who are answering either are not playing 3.5 or have not played it in a while. Some are playing PF or 3.0 for sure. So I need to sift through what is stated opinion and stated rules and if those rules are sanctioned by Wizards of the Coast/TSR. The rules say nothing to support the Beholder cannot turn multiple times in a round thus the fly description. It says it may fire 3 eyes in each 90 degree arc. If it were standing still with the eyes open then there are three arcs (even if tilting) that 3 eyes which is 9 of their 10 firing around the room. If the big eye is closed that would mean 12 but the eyes can fire only once or do you assume that means 12 can fire since they are fee actions? I mean the wording does say 3! If you make a 3 dimensional model you will find that these arcs are also 3 dimensional. Now if you draw them coming over top of the beholder you will find a spot where they all meet at a single square or point (if no grid). At this point a flying creature could easily straddle all the arcs and get fired on by all of them. Because he was in the 90 degree arc that is specified by the rules. Furthermore the rules state, "A beholder can tilt and pan its body each round to change which rays (eyes) it can bring to bear in any given arc." This one sentence people are basing their whole argument. My first question was if it was having to tilt to bring finger of death against a wizard does that mean I need to map out where these eyes are or are they like the pic posted earlier in this thread that shows the eyes so long they can fire in any arc? No one said they mapped the eyes out which is what this sentence was saying to do or so I thought. The second part this has to work with his Flyby attack feat and the fact that he can move 20' twice in a round and the eye rays are free actions. He does not have to stop to fire rays. Ahh but if you go forward about 10' wont who was covered in the front arc by the eye now be in the left arc or the right arc and be fired upon. Your rendering is basically saying well if they started in this arc the beholder can't move forward or turn to put them in another arc twice in the same round. That makes no sense. You are interpreting this from the player perspective such as "I want to stay in this arc so he can only hit me with those 3 rays or just the antimagic ray cuz Lord knows he can’t hit me with that and turn? Really? Lets also add the fact these creatures are super intelligent more so than the players who with this knowledge may just try to stay in one arc. I am not sure if you use minis and a battle map but it makes more sense if you do. It basically saying that at any point along my 20' plus 20' of movement I can only bring 3 rays to bear in a 90 degree arc or the big eye with anti- magic if I decided it should stay open this round. Though it can hover, its fly speed is rated as Good so there is a turning arc if he went down and wanted to turn around and come back this time with the opposite eyes facing you again, they can only fire once per round, it would be allowed because it still meets the rule that only 3 (at the given time) can fire in that arc. So when you say why ask, because I am looking for more precise answers. If you don't play with minis then you won’t see what I just talked about, if you did you would see how preposterous what you are saying looks like if you put it into motion. I can hear the fighter now as I move down the passage with the Beholder. "Wait I was already in one arc (the anti-Magic ray) so no matter how close he gets and I end up on his side he can’t hit me this round with those other eyes! No wonder these epic creatures die so easily. These rules are from the monsters point of view and the Lords of Madness seem to describe it the same way when it says what the eyes can see, the perspective is from the Beholder not the players. So as I said many of the answers are great, some are just not making sense and don't play out well on the battle map. I wish others would also take some advice on this too and see it from a different view. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Beholder Antimagic Ray vs Wiz Antimagic field
Top