Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Beholder's Eye Beams
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="KarinsDad" data-source="post: 2986460" data-attributes="member: 2011"><p>The purpose of this sentence is to allow the Beholder to change which rays can be fired in which arcs each round. The purpose of the sentence is not to invalidate the previous sentence that the Beholder is limited to 3 rays per arc. For example:</p><p></p><p>Round one: arc one: disintegrate, charm monster, telekinesis: arc two: fear, finger of death, charm person, arc three: etc.</p><p></p><p>Round two: arc one: telekinesis, fear, finger of death: arc two: charm person, slow, charm monster, arc three: etc.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>I have not once limited the Beholder's movement in any way in any of my posts.</p><p></p><p>I have instead stated that an arc is not based on facing. It is based on direction. Just like the rules state (forward, backwards, up, down, right, or left).</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Well, you keep saying it works well, but you continue to avoid saying how.</p><p></p><p>Where is your rules support that it can change the positioning (I assume you mean direction) of the arcs?</p><p></p><p>With your "change the positioning" comment, you appear to be adding facing rules. You appear to be claiming that the directions of the arc change when the facing of the creature (which does not exist in the game) changes (if I understand you correctly).</p><p></p><p>Even the flying movement rules do not have facing in them. They have direction. The creature has to continue flying in the direction it has been flying. It does not have to continue flying in the direction it has been facing because there is no facing in the game.</p><p></p><p>A dragon can bite someone in any square around it, even if it is flying in the opposite direction.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Tilt/pan is descriptive text to explain how the Beholder can change which rays associate with which arc each round. It does not mean that he can move arcs around, nor does it invalidate the "3 rays per arc" rule that proceeds it in the text.</p><p></p><p>Note: As posted earlier, I agree with you that the Beholder can target a single opponent with more than three rays in the same round if the Beholder changes its position relative to the target. It has to fly around the target (in a limited arc since it only has a Speed of 20) to do so, but it can be done. What cannot be done is targeting a single opponent with more than 3 rays from far away (e.g. 100 feet) since the Beholder cannot move quickly enough to get to a different side of the opponent (and hence target it with rays from a different arc) in the same round.</p><p></p><p></p><p>Btw, the 3E Beholder was also limited to 3 rays per arc, but it could fire all 9 rays (10 if you count its main eye) straight up. So, people wanted to rotate (using the pan/tilt language) the Beholder so that its main eye was "facing" the ground so that it could fire all 10 rays into a single arc. When the Sage was asked about this, he said it was not allowed.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="KarinsDad, post: 2986460, member: 2011"] The purpose of this sentence is to allow the Beholder to change which rays can be fired in which arcs each round. The purpose of the sentence is not to invalidate the previous sentence that the Beholder is limited to 3 rays per arc. For example: Round one: arc one: disintegrate, charm monster, telekinesis: arc two: fear, finger of death, charm person, arc three: etc. Round two: arc one: telekinesis, fear, finger of death: arc two: charm person, slow, charm monster, arc three: etc. I have not once limited the Beholder's movement in any way in any of my posts. I have instead stated that an arc is not based on facing. It is based on direction. Just like the rules state (forward, backwards, up, down, right, or left). Well, you keep saying it works well, but you continue to avoid saying how. Where is your rules support that it can change the positioning (I assume you mean direction) of the arcs? With your "change the positioning" comment, you appear to be adding facing rules. You appear to be claiming that the directions of the arc change when the facing of the creature (which does not exist in the game) changes (if I understand you correctly). Even the flying movement rules do not have facing in them. They have direction. The creature has to continue flying in the direction it has been flying. It does not have to continue flying in the direction it has been facing because there is no facing in the game. A dragon can bite someone in any square around it, even if it is flying in the opposite direction. Tilt/pan is descriptive text to explain how the Beholder can change which rays associate with which arc each round. It does not mean that he can move arcs around, nor does it invalidate the "3 rays per arc" rule that proceeds it in the text. Note: As posted earlier, I agree with you that the Beholder can target a single opponent with more than three rays in the same round if the Beholder changes its position relative to the target. It has to fly around the target (in a limited arc since it only has a Speed of 20) to do so, but it can be done. What cannot be done is targeting a single opponent with more than 3 rays from far away (e.g. 100 feet) since the Beholder cannot move quickly enough to get to a different side of the opponent (and hence target it with rays from a different arc) in the same round. Btw, the 3E Beholder was also limited to 3 rays per arc, but it could fire all 9 rays (10 if you count its main eye) straight up. So, people wanted to rotate (using the pan/tilt language) the Beholder so that its main eye was "facing" the ground so that it could fire all 10 rays into a single arc. When the Sage was asked about this, he said it was not allowed. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Beholder's Eye Beams
Top