Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Rocket your D&D 5E and Level Up: Advanced 5E games into space! Alpha Star Magazine Is Launching... Right Now!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Bigby’s Icy Grasp Question - Can I sustain, release, attack?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Pyrrhus of Epirus" data-source="post: 4542043" data-attributes="member: 62715"><p><strong>Bigby’s Icy Grasp Question - Can I sustain, release, attack?</strong></p><p></p><p><strong><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd-Bold'"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="color: #ffffff">Bigby’s Icy Grasp </span></span></span></strong></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="color: #ffffff">Wizard Attack 5</span></span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"></p> <p style="text-align: left"><em><span style="font-family: 'MentorStd-Italic'"><span style="font-size: 9px">You conjure a giant floating hand made of chiseled ice that</span></span></em></p><p style="text-align: left"><em><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorStd-Italic'">clutches foes and freezes them.</span></span></em></p> <p style="text-align: left"><strong><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd-Bold'"><span style="font-size: 9px">Daily </span></span></strong></p> </p><p></p><p> </p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'ZapfDingbats'"><span style="font-size: 9px">✦ </span></span><strong><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd-Bold'"><span style="font-size: 9px">Arcane, Cold, Conjuration, Implement</span></span></strong></p> <p style="text-align: left"></p> <p style="text-align: left"><strong><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd-Bold'">Standard Action Ranged </span></span></strong><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'"><span style="font-size: 9px">20</span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><strong><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd-Bold'"><span style="font-size: 9px">Effect: </span></span></strong></p> </p><p></p><p> </p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'"><span style="font-size: 9px">You conjure a 5-foot-tall hand of ice in an unoccupied</span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'">square within range, and the hand attacks. As a move</span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'">action, you can move the hand up to 6 squares.</span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><strong><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd-Bold'"><span style="font-size: 9px">Target: </span></span></strong></p> </p><p></p><p> </p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'"><span style="font-size: 9px">One creature adjacent to the hand</span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"></p> <p style="text-align: left"><strong><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd-Bold'"><span style="font-size: 9px">Attack: </span></span></strong></p><p></p><p> </p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'"><span style="font-size: 9px">Intelligence vs. Reflex</span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"></p> <p style="text-align: left"><strong><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd-Bold'"><span style="font-size: 9px">Hit: </span></span></strong></p><p></p><p> </p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'"><span style="font-size: 9px">2d8 + Intelligence modifier cold damage, and the hand</span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'">grabs the target. If the target attempts to escape, the hand</span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'">uses your Fortitude or Reflex defense.</span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><strong><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd-Bold'"><span style="font-size: 9px">Sustain Minor: </span></span></strong></p> </p><p></p><p> </p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'"><span style="font-size: 9px">A target grabbed by the hand takes 1d8 +</span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'">Intelligence modifier cold damage when you sustain this</span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'">power. As a standard action, you can attack another target</span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'">with the hand, but it must release a target it has grabbed.</span></span></p> </p><p></p><p> </p><p></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'">On the turn after I cast Bigby’s Icy Grasp, and on subsequent turns, can I </span></span></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'">1) Minor action - sustain - causing 1b8+int dmg</span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'">2) Free action - release grabbed target</span></span></p> <p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'">3) Strandard Action - attack target for 2d8+int</span></span></p> </p><p></p><p> </p><p></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'">The placing of the "another" word confuses me. It seems to state that I can sustain minor on a currently grabbed target, let go and attack another. But does "another" in this case prohibit me from attacking the released target? If that is there intention someone explain why the hand can release a target, move, attack another target, but could not simple release and attack? </span></span></p><p></p><p> </p><p></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'">I think the intention is that if the wizards wants to spend his minor and standard action doing dmg with the hand he may, but he must at least risk losing the grab if he misses. </span></span></p><p></p><p> </p><p></p><p style="text-align: left"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: 'MentorSansStd'">Your thoughts?</span></span></p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Pyrrhus of Epirus, post: 4542043, member: 62715"] [b]Bigby’s Icy Grasp Question - Can I sustain, release, attack?[/b] [B][FONT=MentorSansStd-Bold][SIZE=3][COLOR=#ffffff]Bigby’s Icy Grasp [/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/B] [LEFT][FONT=MentorSansStd][SIZE=1][COLOR=#ffffff]Wizard Attack 5[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT] [I][FONT=MentorStd-Italic][SIZE=1]You conjure a giant floating hand made of chiseled ice that[/SIZE][/FONT][/I] [LEFT][I][SIZE=1][FONT=MentorStd-Italic]clutches foes and freezes them.[/FONT][/SIZE][/I] [B][FONT=MentorSansStd-Bold][SIZE=1]Daily [/SIZE][/FONT][/B][/LEFT] [/LEFT] [LEFT][FONT=ZapfDingbats][SIZE=1]✦ [/SIZE][/FONT][B][FONT=MentorSansStd-Bold][SIZE=1]Arcane, Cold, Conjuration, Implement[/SIZE][/FONT][/B] [B][SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd-Bold]Standard Action Ranged [/FONT][/SIZE][/B][FONT=MentorSansStd][SIZE=1]20[/SIZE][/FONT] [LEFT][B][FONT=MentorSansStd-Bold][SIZE=1]Effect: [/SIZE][/FONT][/B][/LEFT] [/LEFT] [LEFT][FONT=MentorSansStd][SIZE=1]You conjure a 5-foot-tall hand of ice in an unoccupied[/SIZE][/FONT] [SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd]square within range, and the hand attacks. As a move[/FONT][/SIZE] [LEFT][SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd]action, you can move the hand up to 6 squares.[/FONT][/SIZE] [B][FONT=MentorSansStd-Bold][SIZE=1]Target: [/SIZE][/FONT][/B][/LEFT] [/LEFT] [LEFT][FONT=MentorSansStd][SIZE=1]One creature adjacent to the hand[/SIZE][/FONT] [B][FONT=MentorSansStd-Bold][SIZE=1]Attack: [/SIZE][/FONT][/B][/LEFT] [LEFT][FONT=MentorSansStd][SIZE=1]Intelligence vs. Reflex[/SIZE][/FONT] [B][FONT=MentorSansStd-Bold][SIZE=1]Hit: [/SIZE][/FONT][/B][/LEFT] [LEFT][FONT=MentorSansStd][SIZE=1]2d8 + Intelligence modifier cold damage, and the hand[/SIZE][/FONT] [SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd]grabs the target. If the target attempts to escape, the hand[/FONT][/SIZE] [LEFT][SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd]uses your Fortitude or Reflex defense.[/FONT][/SIZE] [B][FONT=MentorSansStd-Bold][SIZE=1]Sustain Minor: [/SIZE][/FONT][/B][/LEFT] [/LEFT] [LEFT][FONT=MentorSansStd][SIZE=1]A target grabbed by the hand takes 1d8 +[/SIZE][/FONT] [SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd]Intelligence modifier cold damage when you sustain this[/FONT][/SIZE] [LEFT][SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd]power. As a standard action, you can attack another target[/FONT][/SIZE] [SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd]with the hand, but it must release a target it has grabbed.[/FONT][/SIZE][/LEFT] [/LEFT] [LEFT][SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd]On the turn after I cast Bigby’s Icy Grasp, and on subsequent turns, can I [/FONT][/SIZE] [LEFT][SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd]1) Minor action - sustain - causing 1b8+int dmg[/FONT][/SIZE] [SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd]2) Free action - release grabbed target[/FONT][/SIZE] [SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd]3) Strandard Action - attack target for 2d8+int[/FONT][/SIZE][/LEFT] [/LEFT] [LEFT][SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd]The placing of the "another" word confuses me. It seems to state that I can sustain minor on a currently grabbed target, let go and attack another. But does "another" in this case prohibit me from attacking the released target? If that is there intention someone explain why the hand can release a target, move, attack another target, but could not simple release and attack? [/FONT][/SIZE][/LEFT] [LEFT][SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd]I think the intention is that if the wizards wants to spend his minor and standard action doing dmg with the hand he may, but he must at least risk losing the grab if he misses. [/FONT][/SIZE][/LEFT] [LEFT][SIZE=1][FONT=MentorSansStd]Your thoughts?[/FONT][/SIZE][/LEFT] [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Bigby’s Icy Grasp Question - Can I sustain, release, attack?
Top