Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Blatant abuse of the five foot step?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="SBMC" data-source="post: 2502532" data-attributes="member: 30040"><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">If he took a five foots step into a pit you would not charge him a move action for the fall - "falling is free".</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">Many of you have agreed to the above – falling is free.</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><em><span style="color: white">------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------</span></em></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">Otherwise, following the logic stated, when you fall that 60' per round (I think it is - if not say it is for the purposes of this example)) would that then count as a double move for the character with a 30' move? No - it would not.</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">Can you reasonably argue with this? If a PC was falling 1,000 feet each round he would be given a move action and a standard action as he fell; does anyone disagree with that?</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><em><span style="color: white">------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------</span></em></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">Page 77 of the PHB (middle/lower right hand side) details this: See Jumping Down and Action. It indicates that jumping is a move equivalent action (and/or combined with a move action) and Jumping down falls under Jumping - thus it is an actual move equivalent action - and thus you cannot also make a full attack. A 5 foot step is still free (but you can’t move and take the 5 foot step as we all know)</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">There are no rules regarding “stepping” off a ledge. I don’t see why one can’t do it at all; the logic against that is intrinsic and just because the rules say nothing does not mean it can’t be done. Are characters are heroes; the best of the best of the world; far braver than even the bravest.. If it was stepping into molten lava as a DM you would allow it (even though you would know the player was daft)…why not thin air?</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></span></span></span></p><p> <span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></span></span></span></p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------</span></span></span></span></span></span></p><p> <span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></span></span></span></p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></span></span></span><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">What I would say, and I think the RAW supports me (IMO), is that if you just step and stop – free action – no other actions subsequent to that can be taken without charging a move action against the character. </span></span></span></p><p> </p><p></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">“jumping down” really means intentionally jumping off of something - as in “jumping” not just walking off of it. Some of you eluded to the two being the same by default IMO they are indeed different. However falling is a free action but landing still takes a move action – just as if you had made the full jump action in the same round you would get the “jump down” fall and landing as a single move action. But any one of the three individually still costs a move action (I hope that made sense!)</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">Think about the rules; if you run out of movement in a jump you are “frozen” there until your next turn where you then continue the jump (which costs a move action). Why can that not also apply here? With the only difference being you got a freebie top start the jump by stepping off but in the end it still costs you a move action to complete.</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------</span></span></span></span></span></span></p><p> <span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></span></span></span></p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></span></span></span><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">Thus you cannot both take a 5-foot step and fall in the same round and not make a move action out of it; seeing as by default that means you did indeed “jump down” (see below – sooner or later ya gotta spend that move action). However the next round after that; you fall immediately before any actions are taken. </span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------</span></span></span></span></span></span></p><p> <span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></span></span></span></p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></span></span></span><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">A house rule I use (since similar situations came up): You, when falling, after jumping down, may choose to not avoid taking damage (landing using a move action) then you get no chance to stay upright and take max damage. But you can then take a move action and a standard action before or after you hit or a full round action before or after you hit (provided your still alive). </span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">As I said above If you "step off" and fall in the same round ou get hit with a move action and the ruloe just above here applies. Iif you just step off one rond, then on your next turn fall, that fall haoppens first thing in you turn before anything else; you ahve no chance to get an action off before you fall. If you hit the ground that round you take max damage (do the carelessness by which you left the ledge) but can make a save at a -1 penalty per foot of the fall to stay upright.</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="color: #ffffff">In this case the "care" or "carelessness" is what is important when leaving the ledge. If you "jump down" you burn a move action , fall in that same round and land on your feet if you "step off" you may not fall that same round, you ma take no further actions, fall first thing on your next turn, take max damage and get a huge penalty to stay upright.</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="color: #ffffff">See below for additional info in "stepping off".</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------</span></span></span></span></span></span></p><p> <span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></span></span></span></p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'"></span></span></span><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">To answer the original question: he cannot step 5', fall and make a full attack in the same round. </span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">He may however:</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">1. Jump down, fall (making it a move action) and make a single attack</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">2. Make a single attack, jump down and fall</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">3. Make a full attack and just step 5' and end his turn in midair </span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">For #3 - However, between the PC's turns of stepping and falling (seeing as he also attacked them), the badguys would see him coming and on their turn, after he took his step into midair, could do bad things.</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">-I call falling on someone a charge (a free charge for the guy falling - but he can't benefit from it with an attack as a charge unless he chooses to do so at a -10 penalty; but recall this also means he can't use an action to stay upright and per my hose rule takes max damage seeing as a charge is a full round action).</span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">-The enemy could set weapons against that charge on their turn. Meaning the PC takes the falling damage PLUS damage from the set weapons. </span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">-I also say that, given we live in a 3 dimensional world, the PC would generate AoO's for any threatened squares he passes through; be they in midair. </span></span></span></p><p> </p><p></p><p><span style="color: white"><span style="font-size: 12px"><span style="font-family: 'Times New Roman'">Thoughts?</span></span></span></p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="SBMC, post: 2502532, member: 30040"] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------[/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]If he took a five foots step into a pit you would not charge him a move action for the fall - "falling is free".[/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]Many of you have agreed to the above – falling is free.[/font][/size][/color] [size=3][font=Times New Roman][i][color=white]------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------[/color][/i][/font][/size] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]Otherwise, following the logic stated, when you fall that 60' per round (I think it is - if not say it is for the purposes of this example)) would that then count as a double move for the character with a 30' move? No - it would not.[/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]Can you reasonably argue with this? If a PC was falling 1,000 feet each round he would be given a move action and a standard action as he fell; does anyone disagree with that?[/font][/size][/color] [size=3][font=Times New Roman][i][color=white]------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------[/color][/i][/font][/size] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]Page 77 of the PHB (middle/lower right hand side) details this: See Jumping Down and Action. It indicates that jumping is a move equivalent action (and/or combined with a move action) and Jumping down falls under Jumping - thus it is an actual move equivalent action - and thus you cannot also make a full attack. A 5 foot step is still free (but you can’t move and take the 5 foot step as we all know)[/font][/size][/color] [color=white][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]There are no rules regarding “stepping” off a ledge. I don’t see why one can’t do it at all; the logic against that is intrinsic and just because the rules say nothing does not mean it can’t be done. Are characters are heroes; the best of the best of the world; far braver than even the bravest.. If it was stepping into molten lava as a DM you would allow it (even though you would know the player was daft)…why not thin air?[/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------[/font][/size][/color] [/font][/size][/color][color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]What I would say, and I think the RAW supports me (IMO), is that if you just step and stop – free action – no other actions subsequent to that can be taken without charging a move action against the character. [/font][/size][/color] [color=white][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]“jumping down” really means intentionally jumping off of something - as in “jumping” not just walking off of it. Some of you eluded to the two being the same by default IMO they are indeed different. However falling is a free action but landing still takes a move action – just as if you had made the full jump action in the same round you would get the “jump down” fall and landing as a single move action. But any one of the three individually still costs a move action (I hope that made sense!)[/font][/size][/color] [color=white][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]Think about the rules; if you run out of movement in a jump you are “frozen” there until your next turn where you then continue the jump (which costs a move action). Why can that not also apply here? With the only difference being you got a freebie top start the jump by stepping off but in the end it still costs you a move action to complete.[/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman][color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------[/font][/size][/color] [/font][/size][/color][color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]Thus you cannot both take a 5-foot step and fall in the same round and not make a move action out of it; seeing as by default that means you did indeed “jump down” (see below – sooner or later ya gotta spend that move action). However the next round after that; you fall immediately before any actions are taken. [/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman][color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------[/font][/size][/color] [/font][/size][/color][color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]A house rule I use (since similar situations came up): You, when falling, after jumping down, may choose to not avoid taking damage (landing using a move action) then you get no chance to stay upright and take max damage. But you can then take a move action and a standard action before or after you hit or a full round action before or after you hit (provided your still alive). [/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman][/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]As I said above If you "step off" and fall in the same round ou get hit with a move action and the ruloe just above here applies. Iif you just step off one rond, then on your next turn fall, that fall haoppens first thing in you turn before anything else; you ahve no chance to get an action off before you fall. If you hit the ground that round you take max damage (do the carelessness by which you left the ledge) but can make a save at a -1 penalty per foot of the fall to stay upright.[/font][/size][/color] [font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=#ffffff][/color][/size][/font] [font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=#ffffff]In this case the "care" or "carelessness" is what is important when leaving the ledge. If you "jump down" you burn a move action , fall in that same round and land on your feet if you "step off" you may not fall that same round, you ma take no further actions, fall first thing on your next turn, take max damage and get a huge penalty to stay upright.[/color][/size][/font] [font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=#ffffff][/color][/size][/font] [font=Times New Roman][size=3][color=#ffffff]See below for additional info in "stepping off".[/color][/size][/font] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman][color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------[/font][/size][/color] [/font][/size][/color][color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]To answer the original question: he cannot step 5', fall and make a full attack in the same round. [/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]He may however:[/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]1. Jump down, fall (making it a move action) and make a single attack[/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]2. Make a single attack, jump down and fall[/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]3. Make a full attack and just step 5' and end his turn in midair [/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]For #3 - However, between the PC's turns of stepping and falling (seeing as he also attacked them), the badguys would see him coming and on their turn, after he took his step into midair, could do bad things.[/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]-I call falling on someone a charge (a free charge for the guy falling - but he can't benefit from it with an attack as a charge unless he chooses to do so at a -10 penalty; but recall this also means he can't use an action to stay upright and per my hose rule takes max damage seeing as a charge is a full round action).[/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]-The enemy could set weapons against that charge on their turn. Meaning the PC takes the falling damage PLUS damage from the set weapons. [/font][/size][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]-I also say that, given we live in a 3 dimensional world, the PC would generate AoO's for any threatened squares he passes through; be they in midair. [/font][/size][/color] [color=white][/color] [color=white][size=3][font=Times New Roman]Thoughts?[/font][/size][/color] [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Blatant abuse of the five foot step?
Top