Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Booming Blade seems a bit powerful
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Arceliar" data-source="post: 7164047" data-attributes="member: 6894334"><p>I think maybe the confusion comes from a different RAW interpretation of the word "effect" when it pertains to the spell Booming Blade. To repeat the rule in question (with the example this time):</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>That's the entirety of this section in the rules, and it doesn't attempt to define what the "effect" of a spell is, it just gives an example. If two copies of Booming Blade are on a target, then I completely agree that only one instance will have an effect "while their durations overlap", it's just a question of precisely what "effect" means for the spell Booming Blade.</p><p></p><p>For Booming Blade, the spell description states:</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>By my reading, the first sentence establishes when the spell is applied to the target and what its duration is. The second sentence, in its entirety, is what I'm interpreting as the spell's "effect". So, when a target with two copies of Booming Blade moves, then the most potent instance of the spell is the only one for which the effect will apply. That effect will be to deal damage and end the spell. But the second instance on the target won't deal damage, and it won't end, because "and the spell ends" is part of the spell's effect by my reading--it's something that a spell does between being placed on the target and the end of its duration, which as I've noted is 1 round (until the start of the caster's next turn).</p><p></p><p>I don't for a moment claim that this is RAI, but if there's anything RAW to indicate that the "and the spell ends" part of the spell's description is not part of the spell's effect, or if I'm misunderstanding something else about the rules (e.g. the "and the spell ends" <em>is</em> part of the effect, but it doesn't matter because of reasons), then I'd genuinely appreciate it if someone could point me in that direction. There are other cases where it matters, e.g. Death Ward:</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>Now suppose you cast it on a target twice, then try to reduce them to 0 HP. The first instance triggers and they drop to 1 HP instead, and that instance of the spell ends. If the second instance is still around, as it would be my my interpretation of a spell's "effect", then the 0 hit points condition can no longer be met. It can only happen "the first time" the target reduces to 0, which has already happened, but the spell was unable to end itself due to the rules for overlapping spell effects, if "and the spell ends" is considered part of the spell's effect. Then by my interpretation, we're left in the curious state where only the second option--canceling a non-damaging instant death effect--remains possible.</p><p></p><p>The only thing I can think of to get out of this is if the "effect" makes a distinction between what the spell does to the target (damage for Booming Blade, or the stated effects for Death Ward), and modifications to properties of the spell itself ("and the spell ends", even though its duration has not ended yet). The rules for combining effects don't acknowledge any such distinction, so far as I can tell, so I don't acknowledge one either from a RAW perspective, but it's entirely possible that I've missed something.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Arceliar, post: 7164047, member: 6894334"] I think maybe the confusion comes from a different RAW interpretation of the word "effect" when it pertains to the spell Booming Blade. To repeat the rule in question (with the example this time): That's the entirety of this section in the rules, and it doesn't attempt to define what the "effect" of a spell is, it just gives an example. If two copies of Booming Blade are on a target, then I completely agree that only one instance will have an effect "while their durations overlap", it's just a question of precisely what "effect" means for the spell Booming Blade. For Booming Blade, the spell description states: By my reading, the first sentence establishes when the spell is applied to the target and what its duration is. The second sentence, in its entirety, is what I'm interpreting as the spell's "effect". So, when a target with two copies of Booming Blade moves, then the most potent instance of the spell is the only one for which the effect will apply. That effect will be to deal damage and end the spell. But the second instance on the target won't deal damage, and it won't end, because "and the spell ends" is part of the spell's effect by my reading--it's something that a spell does between being placed on the target and the end of its duration, which as I've noted is 1 round (until the start of the caster's next turn). I don't for a moment claim that this is RAI, but if there's anything RAW to indicate that the "and the spell ends" part of the spell's description is not part of the spell's effect, or if I'm misunderstanding something else about the rules (e.g. the "and the spell ends" [I]is[/I] part of the effect, but it doesn't matter because of reasons), then I'd genuinely appreciate it if someone could point me in that direction. There are other cases where it matters, e.g. Death Ward: Now suppose you cast it on a target twice, then try to reduce them to 0 HP. The first instance triggers and they drop to 1 HP instead, and that instance of the spell ends. If the second instance is still around, as it would be my my interpretation of a spell's "effect", then the 0 hit points condition can no longer be met. It can only happen "the first time" the target reduces to 0, which has already happened, but the spell was unable to end itself due to the rules for overlapping spell effects, if "and the spell ends" is considered part of the spell's effect. Then by my interpretation, we're left in the curious state where only the second option--canceling a non-damaging instant death effect--remains possible. The only thing I can think of to get out of this is if the "effect" makes a distinction between what the spell does to the target (damage for Booming Blade, or the stated effects for Death Ward), and modifications to properties of the spell itself ("and the spell ends", even though its duration has not ended yet). The rules for combining effects don't acknowledge any such distinction, so far as I can tell, so I don't acknowledge one either from a RAW perspective, but it's entirely possible that I've missed something. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Booming Blade seems a bit powerful
Top