Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Booming Blade seems a bit powerful
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Arial Black" data-source="post: 7164356" data-attributes="member: 6799649"><p>If we follow that logic, then <em>both</em> spells have their damage rolled and a total amount of damage for each spell is generated. It's just that we only <em>apply</em> the largest of these two totals.</p><p></p><p>It is do-able, but is this what 5E has us do? Specifically, do we note that the two spells are the same, choose the one that is the highest level, then roll only once and apply that? Or, as you suggest, we roll both sets of damage, but only apply the highest <em>result?</em></p><p></p><p>Let's see what 'Combining Magical Effects' on PHB p206 says:-</p><p></p><p>"For example, if two clerics cast bless on the same target, that character gains the spell’s benefit only once; he or she <strong>doesn’t get to roll two</strong> bonus dice".</p><p></p><p>He does <strong>not</strong> get to roll the bonus d4 twice and add them together; we all agree on that.</p><p></p><p>He <em>also</em> does <strong>not</strong> get to roll the bonus d4 twice and apply the highest result! He does not get to roll <strong>two</strong> bonus dice <em>at all!</em> Not according to the quote.</p><p></p><p>That means that the second spell simply does not even trigger, nor does it have any effect. If it did trigger then we would indeed need to roll a second bonus d4 for <em>bless</em>, but only apply the highest. Since we know for a fact that the second d4 was never rolled, it follows that the spell did not even trigger. The only thing preventing it from triggering is the existence of the first spell.</p><p></p><p>That results in the conclusion that the second spell, while not being consciously 'aware' as such, <strong>is</strong> prevented from having its effect by the existence of the already in-place effect of the first spell.</p><p></p><p>Since the 'trigger' and the 'end early' definitely are part of the effect (of <em>booming blade</em>), then they, as part of that effect, are prevented from taking effect <em>at all</em> by the presence of the effect of the first spell.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Arial Black, post: 7164356, member: 6799649"] If we follow that logic, then [i]both[/i] spells have their damage rolled and a total amount of damage for each spell is generated. It's just that we only [i]apply[/i] the largest of these two totals. It is do-able, but is this what 5E has us do? Specifically, do we note that the two spells are the same, choose the one that is the highest level, then roll only once and apply that? Or, as you suggest, we roll both sets of damage, but only apply the highest [i]result?[/i] Let's see what 'Combining Magical Effects' on PHB p206 says:- "For example, if two clerics cast bless on the same target, that character gains the spell’s benefit only once; he or she [b]doesn’t get to roll two[/b] bonus dice". He does [b]not[/b] get to roll the bonus d4 twice and add them together; we all agree on that. He [i]also[/i] does [b]not[/b] get to roll the bonus d4 twice and apply the highest result! He does not get to roll [b]two[/b] bonus dice [i]at all![/i] Not according to the quote. That means that the second spell simply does not even trigger, nor does it have any effect. If it did trigger then we would indeed need to roll a second bonus d4 for [i]bless[/i], but only apply the highest. Since we know for a fact that the second d4 was never rolled, it follows that the spell did not even trigger. The only thing preventing it from triggering is the existence of the first spell. That results in the conclusion that the second spell, while not being consciously 'aware' as such, [b]is[/b] prevented from having its effect by the existence of the already in-place effect of the first spell. Since the 'trigger' and the 'end early' definitely are part of the effect (of [i]booming blade[/i]), then they, as part of that effect, are prevented from taking effect [i]at all[/i] by the presence of the effect of the first spell. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Dungeons & Dragons
Booming Blade seems a bit powerful
Top