Bronze Locust = lose all equipment?

0-hr

Starship Cartographer
The Bronze Locust swarm (BoED, pg. 189) "deals 3d6 damage to any creature or object whose space it occupies".

Does that mean that a character will lose much of his equipment immeadiately if this swam moves onto him? (or is equipment immune to damage until the attending creature dies?)
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Equipment is always assumed to survive unless the character carrying it dies. It makes for some interesting phenomenon, but dem's da rules. I don't know for sure if that applies only to magical equipment or not.
 

I understand that for things like Fireball and what not, but it seemed to me that this swarm in particular went out of its way to mention that it damaged any object in it's space. A normal swarm just talks about creatures. Woulnd't they have said "any unattended object" if that is what they meant?

Mind you, I'd rather they NOT instantly destroy thousands of gp worth of magic items, but the monster write-up strikes me a lot like those oozes that destroy armor and weapons even while the bearer is alive.
 

Atended objects are generally only affected if it specifically mentions "attended objects."

I don't think this was intended to take out all equipment, but, then again, maybe it's kinda like green slime where the rules are a bit vague.
 

Remove ads

Top