Bucklers and spellcasting

Trainz

Explorer
My players say that a cleric can weild his buckler in one hand, his sword in the other, and can use his buckler hand to cast spells.

Are they right ?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Yes.

FranktheDM disagrees, and says that the "hand" holding a buckler is not a free hand, despite the fact that you can use two-handed weapons, dual wield, carry a torch, pull a wand, etc., while wearing a buckler.

A buckler, specifically, does not take up your hand. Your hand is free.

That means you may use it to cast spells, pick locks, whatever you want.

The FAQ (for what it's worth) supports this position.
 


Trainz said:
Thanks.

My cleric player will be happy to hear that.
He could also have a small shield in one hand... a weapon in the other... and move the weapon to the shield hand (as free actions) in order to cast spells. He wont have the shield benefit for any AoOs he provokes for casting however.


Mike
 

mikebr99 said:
He could also have a small shield in one hand... a weapon in the other... and move the weapon to the shield hand (as free actions) in order to cast spells. He wont have the shield benefit for any AoOs he provokes for casting however.


Mike

The New FAQ, IIRC, makes switching weapons like this a move equiv action.

Seems like a major change to be making, but it does make bucklers awful useful for clerics.
 

Parlan said:
The New FAQ, IIRC, makes switching weapons like this a move equiv action.

Seems like a major change to be making, but it does make bucklers awful useful for clerics.

... AND rogues (masterwork ones at least), AND two weapon fighters, AND two-handers...

About only fighters use large shields. As soon as you cast spells, you're better off with a buckler.
 

Trainz said:
... AND rogues (masterwork ones at least), AND two weapon fighters, AND two-handers...

About only fighters use large shields. As soon as you cast spells, you're better off with a buckler.

Masterwork rogues?

EDIT: I should read the entire post before I submit stupid :):):):).
 

I think he meant masterwork rouge, the kind that really rich people use. They put the rouge into two bucklers, kind of like a really big powder case.
 

Patryn of Elvenshae said:
Yes.

FranktheDM disagrees, and says that the "hand" holding a buckler is not a free hand, despite the fact that you can use two-handed weapons, dual wield, carry a torch, pull a wand, etc., while wearing a buckler.

A buckler, specifically, does not take up your hand. Your hand is free.

That means you may use it to cast spells, pick locks, whatever you want.

The FAQ (for what it's worth) supports this position.

Because a Buckler is strapped to the forearm, not held in the hand.
 


Remove ads

Top