Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Can a Slowed Creature Shift?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Infiniti2000" data-source="post: 5245058" data-attributes="member: 31734"><p>Negative effects already took their course upon delaying.</p><p></p><p> We agree that you can no longer delay. However, just as nothing says you can now take your turn, nothing says you lose your turn either. According to the dazed condition you can still take on action this turn (including free actions). Simply, the delay ends.</p><p></p><p> Agreed. Nothing I've said contradicts this.</p><p></p><p> I don't agree. Taking such an action is NOT using the delay procedure. It's stopping delaying and taking your action as allowed by the dazed condition. Contrary to this is that you're inducing a loss of action which is not called out by the dazed condition.</p><p></p><p> This I agree with, but your position has two reasons to disallow readied actions. The other reason is that you already took an action to ready, so once dazed you can no longer take an action. For instance, if you could still take immediate actions while dazed, then I would allow you to retain the readied action while you still would not.</p><p></p><p>As another example (A), let's say I readied to move when someone got adjacent to me. However, that move which interrupts the opponents movement provokes an opportunity attack, which dazes me. I think you would say I cannot continue my planned movement; I have to stop right there and my turn ends.</p><p></p><p>Actually, I'm not sure if it was covered before, but what if a similar situation (B) arises. I'm not readying or delaying or anything, but I take a minor and a standard and then I move. My movement provokes an OA from an unseen opponent and I get dazed. It's my position that I can finish the movement. It must therefore be your position that the movement forcibly stops because I've already taken my actions this turn and this movement violates that.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Infiniti2000, post: 5245058, member: 31734"] Negative effects already took their course upon delaying. We agree that you can no longer delay. However, just as nothing says you can now take your turn, nothing says you lose your turn either. According to the dazed condition you can still take on action this turn (including free actions). Simply, the delay ends. Agreed. Nothing I've said contradicts this. I don't agree. Taking such an action is NOT using the delay procedure. It's stopping delaying and taking your action as allowed by the dazed condition. Contrary to this is that you're inducing a loss of action which is not called out by the dazed condition. This I agree with, but your position has two reasons to disallow readied actions. The other reason is that you already took an action to ready, so once dazed you can no longer take an action. For instance, if you could still take immediate actions while dazed, then I would allow you to retain the readied action while you still would not. As another example (A), let's say I readied to move when someone got adjacent to me. However, that move which interrupts the opponents movement provokes an opportunity attack, which dazes me. I think you would say I cannot continue my planned movement; I have to stop right there and my turn ends. Actually, I'm not sure if it was covered before, but what if a similar situation (B) arises. I'm not readying or delaying or anything, but I take a minor and a standard and then I move. My movement provokes an OA from an unseen opponent and I get dazed. It's my position that I can finish the movement. It must therefore be your position that the movement forcibly stops because I've already taken my actions this turn and this movement violates that. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Can a Slowed Creature Shift?
Top