Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Rocket your D&D 5E and Level Up: Advanced 5E games into space! Alpha Star Magazine Is Launching... Right Now!
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Can Delay slot you in between two characters acting on the same initiative count?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Vegepygmy" data-source="post: 5861077" data-attributes="member: 40109"><p>No, not that rule. The rule (as you interpret it) that PC C (init mod +2) can act between PC A (init mod +0) and PC B (init mod +1) if A goes on initiative count 12 and B goes on initiative count 11, but <em>not</em> if A and B both go on initiative count 11.</p><p> </p><p>What purpose is served by complicating initiative order that way <em>and</em> necessitating the tracking of initiative counts (and not merely order) beyond the start of combat? Doesn't it strike you as totally arbitrary?</p><p> </p><p>Also, consider the Ready action.</p><p> </p><p><span style="font-family: '00CelestiaAntiqua'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: '00CelestiaAntiqua'"><span style="font-size: 9px">How would you handle the following scenario?</span></span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="font-family: '00CelestiaAntiqua'"><span style="font-size: 9px"><span style="font-family: '00CelestiaAntiqua'"><span style="font-size: 9px">PC A (init mod +0) and PC B (init mod +1) are both scheduled to act on initiative count 11. C (init mod +2) acts on initiative count 12, and Readies to cast a spell if A fires his bow. On initiative count 11, B acts first (having the higher init mod), and then A fires his bow, triggering C's readied action.</span></span></span></span></p><p> </p><p><span style="font-size: 9px">C casts his spell, and now his initiative result changes to 11. For the rest of the encounter, he acts immediately ahead of A (the character whose action triggered his readied action). But Water Bob's rule says that A, B and C all act on initiative count 11, and since they are "tied," they can only act in order of their initiative modifiers.</span></p><p> </p><p><span style="font-size: 9px">Thus, C (init mod +2) must act immediately before B (init mod +1), who goes before A. C <em>cannot</em> act immediately ahead of A, even though the Ready rules specifically state that he does.</span></p><p> </p><p><span style="font-size: 9px">Now, I realize one can argue that in this particular case, the specific Ready rule trumps the general tied-initiative-count rule, but really...isn't it obvious that "initiative count" was never intended to function the way Water Bob is claiming?</span></p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Vegepygmy, post: 5861077, member: 40109"] No, not that rule. The rule (as you interpret it) that PC C (init mod +2) can act between PC A (init mod +0) and PC B (init mod +1) if A goes on initiative count 12 and B goes on initiative count 11, but [I]not[/I] if A and B both go on initiative count 11. What purpose is served by complicating initiative order that way [I]and[/I] necessitating the tracking of initiative counts (and not merely order) beyond the start of combat? Doesn't it strike you as totally arbitrary? Also, consider the Ready action. [FONT=00CelestiaAntiqua][SIZE=1][FONT=00CelestiaAntiqua][SIZE=1]How would you handle the following scenario?[/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT] [FONT=00CelestiaAntiqua][SIZE=1][FONT=00CelestiaAntiqua][SIZE=1]PC A (init mod +0) and PC B (init mod +1) are both scheduled to act on initiative count 11. C (init mod +2) acts on initiative count 12, and Readies to cast a spell if A fires his bow. On initiative count 11, B acts first (having the higher init mod), and then A fires his bow, triggering C's readied action.[/SIZE][/FONT][/SIZE][/FONT] [SIZE=1]C casts his spell, and now his initiative result changes to 11. For the rest of the encounter, he acts immediately ahead of A (the character whose action triggered his readied action). But Water Bob's rule says that A, B and C all act on initiative count 11, and since they are "tied," they can only act in order of their initiative modifiers.[/SIZE] [SIZE=1]Thus, C (init mod +2) must act immediately before B (init mod +1), who goes before A. C [I]cannot[/I] act immediately ahead of A, even though the Ready rules specifically state that he does.[/SIZE] [SIZE=1]Now, I realize one can argue that in this particular case, the specific Ready rule trumps the general tied-initiative-count rule, but really...isn't it obvious that "initiative count" was never intended to function the way Water Bob is claiming?[/SIZE] [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Can Delay slot you in between two characters acting on the same initiative count?
Top