takasi First Post Jul 10, 2007 #1 Can unseen servants provide a flanking bonus even if they can't attack? Do invisible creatures that opponents are unaware of normally provide a flanking bonus? Do creatures that are unable to attack normally provide a flanking bonus?
Can unseen servants provide a flanking bonus even if they can't attack? Do invisible creatures that opponents are unaware of normally provide a flanking bonus? Do creatures that are unable to attack normally provide a flanking bonus?
IanB First Post Jul 10, 2007 #2 You have to threaten someone in order to provide a flanking bonus to an attacker, so unseen servants are out.
You have to threaten someone in order to provide a flanking bonus to an attacker, so unseen servants are out.
takasi First Post Jul 10, 2007 #3 Thanks! "Only a creature or character that threatens the defender can help an attacker get a flanking bonus. " http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/combatModifiers.htm
Thanks! "Only a creature or character that threatens the defender can help an attacker get a flanking bonus. " http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/combatModifiers.htm
Hypersmurf Moderatarrrrh... Jul 10, 2007 #4 takasi said: Do invisible creatures that opponents are unaware of normally provide a flanking bonus? Click to expand... Per the rules in the PHB, certainly, as long as they are friendly to the attacker, in the correct position, and threaten the opponent. Skip Williams declared otherwise in the 3E FAQ and the RotG, but his assertion is unsupported by the rules. Do creatures that are unable to attack normally provide a flanking bonus? Click to expand... You threaten any square into which you can make a melee attack. If you can't make a melee attack, you generally don't threaten, and so no. -Hyp.
takasi said: Do invisible creatures that opponents are unaware of normally provide a flanking bonus? Click to expand... Per the rules in the PHB, certainly, as long as they are friendly to the attacker, in the correct position, and threaten the opponent. Skip Williams declared otherwise in the 3E FAQ and the RotG, but his assertion is unsupported by the rules. Do creatures that are unable to attack normally provide a flanking bonus? Click to expand... You threaten any square into which you can make a melee attack. If you can't make a melee attack, you generally don't threaten, and so no. -Hyp.