Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Can you Cleave after a Cup De' Grassey?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="KarinsDad" data-source="post: 1238874" data-attributes="member: 2011"><p>Agreed. That was a poor example.</p><p></p><p></p><p></p><p>The CDG guy did not have a BAB. Hence, you cannot use the same non-existent BAB as a non-existent BAB.</p><p></p><p>Coup de grace is a special full round action. It is not a full round attack. It is not a standard action attack. It does not have a BAB. It's non-existent BAB cannot be used to do other things. You cannot Power Attack with Coup De Grace. You cannot Cleave afterwards. You cannot Fight Defensively.</p><p></p><p>You are not using BAB, hence, you cannot change your BAB or reuse your BAB for something else.</p><p></p><p>A BAB by book definition is an "attack roll bonus derived...". If there is no attack roll, there is no attack roll bonus. No bonus does not mean zero bonus.</p><p></p><p>Just because Coup de grace does damage does not mean that you get to use a BAB from it for something else. It is not a "Special Attack" (or in the special attack section). It does not state that you are doing an attack. It states that you are doing damage.</p><p></p><p></p><p>On top of that, if you get damaged while doing a CDG, you must also make a Concentration check.</p><p></p><p>"it involves focused concentration and methodical action"</p><p></p><p>"while engaged in some <strong>action</strong> that requires your full attention."</p><p></p><p>Concentration does not list CDG, but it does specify actions that require your full attention. Since CDG involves focused concentration by definition, it qualifies.</p><p></p><p></p><p>In fact, I would rule (but this is more of a house rule since it is not explicitly stated) that you cannot even do an attack of opportunity (let alone a Cleave)against others around you while doing a CDG since you do not threaten them.</p><p></p><p>"you threaten each square into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your action"</p><p></p><p>If you are performing a methodical action that requires focused concentration (e.g. disarm device, casting a spell, picking a lock, coup de grace), you cannot make a melee attack into an adjacent square without giving up that action and concentration. You cannot slowly and methodically be putting a dagger into someone's throat at the same time that you threaten someone else with the dagger.</p><p></p><p>Now granted, the threaten rules do not explicitly state that if you are concentrating, you do not threaten adjacent squares. However, if you look at the overall rules (AoO against you if you concentrate, threaten only if you have a melee weapon or armed unarmed attack available and useable, cannot AoO if you cannot do an action like when stunned, can lose the spell when casting defensively, etc.), the implication is clear. At least for me. I view this as an omission.</p><p></p><p>Do you allow a caster who is concentrating on casting Summon Monster I to do an AoO because he has a dagger in one hand? I don't. I think the rules imply it even though they do not outright state it. Casting defensively, on the other hand, does imply to me that you are threatening those around you if you have a dagger in your hand (since you are paying some attention to them). How can you threaten someone who you are ignoring because you are concentrating?</p><p></p><p>To me, if you are concentrating, you have no BAB because you are not actively attacking or defending. You are doing some other action. JMO on this last part though.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="KarinsDad, post: 1238874, member: 2011"] Agreed. That was a poor example. The CDG guy did not have a BAB. Hence, you cannot use the same non-existent BAB as a non-existent BAB. Coup de grace is a special full round action. It is not a full round attack. It is not a standard action attack. It does not have a BAB. It's non-existent BAB cannot be used to do other things. You cannot Power Attack with Coup De Grace. You cannot Cleave afterwards. You cannot Fight Defensively. You are not using BAB, hence, you cannot change your BAB or reuse your BAB for something else. A BAB by book definition is an "attack roll bonus derived...". If there is no attack roll, there is no attack roll bonus. No bonus does not mean zero bonus. Just because Coup de grace does damage does not mean that you get to use a BAB from it for something else. It is not a "Special Attack" (or in the special attack section). It does not state that you are doing an attack. It states that you are doing damage. On top of that, if you get damaged while doing a CDG, you must also make a Concentration check. "it involves focused concentration and methodical action" "while engaged in some [b]action[/b] that requires your full attention." Concentration does not list CDG, but it does specify actions that require your full attention. Since CDG involves focused concentration by definition, it qualifies. In fact, I would rule (but this is more of a house rule since it is not explicitly stated) that you cannot even do an attack of opportunity (let alone a Cleave)against others around you while doing a CDG since you do not threaten them. "you threaten each square into which you can make a melee attack, even when it is not your action" If you are performing a methodical action that requires focused concentration (e.g. disarm device, casting a spell, picking a lock, coup de grace), you cannot make a melee attack into an adjacent square without giving up that action and concentration. You cannot slowly and methodically be putting a dagger into someone's throat at the same time that you threaten someone else with the dagger. Now granted, the threaten rules do not explicitly state that if you are concentrating, you do not threaten adjacent squares. However, if you look at the overall rules (AoO against you if you concentrate, threaten only if you have a melee weapon or armed unarmed attack available and useable, cannot AoO if you cannot do an action like when stunned, can lose the spell when casting defensively, etc.), the implication is clear. At least for me. I view this as an omission. Do you allow a caster who is concentrating on casting Summon Monster I to do an AoO because he has a dagger in one hand? I don't. I think the rules imply it even though they do not outright state it. Casting defensively, on the other hand, does imply to me that you are threatening those around you if you have a dagger in your hand (since you are paying some attention to them). How can you threaten someone who you are ignoring because you are concentrating? To me, if you are concentrating, you have no BAB because you are not actively attacking or defending. You are doing some other action. JMO on this last part though. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Can you Cleave after a Cup De' Grassey?
Top