Menu
News
All News
Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
Pathfinder
Starfinder
Warhammer
2d20 System
Year Zero Engine
Industry News
Reviews
Dragon Reflections
White Dwarf Reflections
Columns
Weekly Digests
Weekly News Digest
Freebies, Sales & Bundles
RPG Print News
RPG Crowdfunding News
Game Content
ENterplanetary DimENsions
Mythological Figures
Opinion
Worlds of Design
Peregrine's Nest
RPG Evolution
Other Columns
From the Freelancing Frontline
Monster ENcyclopedia
WotC/TSR Alumni Look Back
4 Hours w/RSD (Ryan Dancey)
The Road to 3E (Jonathan Tweet)
Greenwood's Realms (Ed Greenwood)
Drawmij's TSR (Jim Ward)
Community
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Resources
Wiki
Pages
Latest activity
Media
New media
New comments
Search media
Downloads
Latest reviews
Search resources
EN Publishing
Store
EN5ider
Adventures in ZEITGEIST
Awfully Cheerful Engine
What's OLD is NEW
Judge Dredd & The Worlds Of 2000AD
War of the Burning Sky
Level Up: Advanced 5E
Events & Releases
Upcoming Events
Private Events
Featured Events
Socials!
EN Publishing
Twitter
BlueSky
Facebook
Instagram
EN World
BlueSky
YouTube
Facebook
Twitter
Twitch
Podcast
Features
Top 5 RPGs Compiled Charts 2004-Present
Adventure Game Industry Market Research Summary (RPGs) V1.0
Ryan Dancey: Acquiring TSR
Q&A With Gary Gygax
D&D Rules FAQs
TSR, WotC, & Paizo: A Comparative History
D&D Pronunciation Guide
Million Dollar TTRPG Kickstarters
Tabletop RPG Podcast Hall of Fame
Eric Noah's Unofficial D&D 3rd Edition News
D&D in the Mainstream
D&D & RPG History
About Morrus
Log in
Register
What's new
Search
Search
Search titles only
By:
Forums & Topics
Forum List
Latest Posts
Forum list
*Dungeons & Dragons
Level Up: Advanced 5th Edition
D&D Older Editions, OSR, & D&D Variants
*TTRPGs General
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
EN Publishing
*Geek Talk & Media
Search forums
Chat/Discord
Menu
Log in
Register
Install the app
Install
Upgrade your account to a Community Supporter account and remove most of the site ads.
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Can you Cleave after a Cup De' Grassey?
JavaScript is disabled. For a better experience, please enable JavaScript in your browser before proceeding.
You are using an out of date browser. It may not display this or other websites correctly.
You should upgrade or use an
alternative browser
.
Reply to thread
Message
<blockquote data-quote="Elvinis75" data-source="post: 1240408" data-attributes="member: 4379"><p>I would think that is a slippery slope that you are walking Hyper.</p><p>So a person doesn’t have to take any attack to use power attack? That seems to fly both in the face of the rules and logic. The feat states: </p><p></p><p>Benefit: On the character's action, before making attack rolls for a round, the character may choose to subtract a number from all melee attack rolls and add the same number to all melee damage rolls. This number may not exceed the character's base attack bonus. The penalty on attacks and bonus on damage applies until the character's next action. </p><p></p><p>The part after the first comma implies that the character is going to make attack rolls that round. Hence the word “making” not the phase “decides to make” or “chooses to make”. Nor does it read before making any action. This is to me is clear that to use power attack you must make a attack roll, to clarify the feats text should be changed to match that of expertise. Can you use power attack or expertise if you can’t attack? Think that these two feats are two sides to the same coin. It is clear that you can’t use expertise if you CDG as you are not taking the attack or full attack action, it is equally clear that CDG is not a melee attack roll. If you don’t “make” an attack roll you are not following the letter of the feat. I would further say that you can’t cleave as it says that you use the same attack bonus as the “attack” that it follows. One part of the equation is not defined. There was no attack roll. That is not the same as zero. It can be proved that it can’t be zero in at least one instance therefore the statement is not true. Take for example if the character has a Total attack bonus of 0. The person they are laying the CDG on has an AC of 25. Saying that the attack roll was zero would mean that the character would not have hit the person on the ground. In short, I’m a computer person and can tell you for a fact that a null does not equal 0. So that sort of number smithing cannot be justified. To cleave you have to have made a previous attack that you can base it off. Since CDG has no attack bonus it is impossible to accurately define the cleave. So even if the rules allow a cleave off a CDG, IMHO they don’t, there is no way to fairly adjudicate that attack.</p></blockquote><p></p>
[QUOTE="Elvinis75, post: 1240408, member: 4379"] I would think that is a slippery slope that you are walking Hyper. So a person doesn’t have to take any attack to use power attack? That seems to fly both in the face of the rules and logic. The feat states: Benefit: On the character's action, before making attack rolls for a round, the character may choose to subtract a number from all melee attack rolls and add the same number to all melee damage rolls. This number may not exceed the character's base attack bonus. The penalty on attacks and bonus on damage applies until the character's next action. The part after the first comma implies that the character is going to make attack rolls that round. Hence the word “making” not the phase “decides to make” or “chooses to make”. Nor does it read before making any action. This is to me is clear that to use power attack you must make a attack roll, to clarify the feats text should be changed to match that of expertise. Can you use power attack or expertise if you can’t attack? Think that these two feats are two sides to the same coin. It is clear that you can’t use expertise if you CDG as you are not taking the attack or full attack action, it is equally clear that CDG is not a melee attack roll. If you don’t “make” an attack roll you are not following the letter of the feat. I would further say that you can’t cleave as it says that you use the same attack bonus as the “attack” that it follows. One part of the equation is not defined. There was no attack roll. That is not the same as zero. It can be proved that it can’t be zero in at least one instance therefore the statement is not true. Take for example if the character has a Total attack bonus of 0. The person they are laying the CDG on has an AC of 25. Saying that the attack roll was zero would mean that the character would not have hit the person on the ground. In short, I’m a computer person and can tell you for a fact that a null does not equal 0. So that sort of number smithing cannot be justified. To cleave you have to have made a previous attack that you can base it off. Since CDG has no attack bonus it is impossible to accurately define the cleave. So even if the rules allow a cleave off a CDG, IMHO they don’t, there is no way to fairly adjudicate that attack. [/QUOTE]
Insert quotes…
Verification
Post reply
Community
General Tabletop Discussion
*Pathfinder & Starfinder
Can you Cleave after a Cup De' Grassey?
Top