SRD(Spectral Hand) said:For as long as the spell lasts, any touch range spell of 4th level or lower that you cast can be delivered by the spectral hand.
SRD(Energy Drain) said:Energy Drain
Necromancy
Level: Clr 9, Sor/Wiz 9
You were correct about the type, it is the Vampire's ability (Su). If you can attack with it to deliver the other Dread Necro's abilities, I'm not sure why you can't attack with it.Hypersmurf said:I think he means Energy Drain [Su]:
Energy Drain (Su): Living creatures hit by a vampire’s slam attack (or any other natural weapon the vampire might possess) gain two negative levels. For each negative level bestowed, the vampire gains 5 temporary hit points. A vampire can use its energy drain ability once per round.
The answer's still no, since a Spectral Hand isn't a natural weapon.
-Hyp.
AluvialSRD said:The spell gives you a +2 bonus on your melee touch attack roll, and attacking with the hand counts normally as an attack.
Aluvial said:If you can attack with it to deliver the other Dread Necro's abilities, I'm not sure why you can't attack with it.
Well I'm not sure. You can pass Charnal Touch (1d8, +1 per 4 class levels) (which mimics a lich's touch attack when it hits 20th level, when you actually become a lich), Scabrous Touch (which gives Contagion, as the spell), and Enervating Touch (which actually drains 2 levels), through the Spectral Hand. Since Spectral Hand allows a Melee Touch Attack, and Enervating Touch allows you to drain levels, I would say that if my Vampire Dread Necromancer would allow the Energy Drain too.Hypersmurf said:Ah - does the Dread Necromancer have a class feature that alters the behaviour of Spectral Hand?
-Hyp.
Aluvial said:My point is that the Spectral Hand counts as a Melee Touch Attack (from the SRD) and the Energy Drain of a Vampire is through a Melee Touch Attack.
frankthedm said:The Devourer has a special ability to use its energy drain through its spectral hand.
Just pointing out that there was precedence in the ruleset for mosters getting extra benefits from Spectral Hand. The Angel of the Dark / Dread Necromancer does get to use the class's energy drain though their spectral hand, so it is not inconcievable. The main issue is will it be too deadly for the CR to let a vampire use its double negative level slam through the touchy-touchy.Hypersmurf said:How appropriate that this is a thread about a Dread Necromancer...?